PDA

View Full Version : Back from noobland... with more questions

callthecops
09-27-07, 08:48 PM
so, my 8800 gtx arrived and my dad installed it correctly im assuming (yay). he installed software for the card and now my vista is running smoothly.
i just have one problem. one of my techie friends (one that i was showing off my gtx to and one who is EXTREMELY envious lol) said that my gtx is running quite hot. like as in 69degCelsius hot, when im doing NOTHING. is this normal? at least its stable at 69 and not going up any further. but still im concerned cuz as far as i know, this is one EXPENSIVE card and i dont feel like busting it in the first few weeks cuz of heat problems.
any way to increase the cards fan speed? he told me that gtx's usually are at 60% of fan speed capacity when straight outta the box and that raising it to 100% would lower my gtx temperature by at least 10 degC (god knows HOW he knows all this information). as u all probably already know, im a noob so i dont want to manually physically do anything to the card to tweak the fan speed (and if thats the only way to do it then im just gonna let go of this heat issue or maybe supplement the sonata III case fan with an extra fan).
thanks yall. respect.
o yeah, and if any of u have any other suggestions (beside card fan speed increase and buying an extra fan) on cooling down my gtx then PLEASE inform this technology ignorant brain of mine.:headexplode:

callthecops
09-27-07, 08:51 PM
an idea just popped into my head (might not be a good one lol). if i take off one of the side of the sonata III case, will that help in any way to reduce overall heat inside the case? it does make logical sense in terms of chemistry and transfer of heat energy to the exterior (lol). feedback pls

callthecops
09-27-07, 09:02 PM
omg another question (sorry folks, bare with me)