PDA

View Full Version : Vista SP1


Pages : [1] 2

Phyxion
09-28-07, 06:59 AM
Seems no one here made a thread about it.
Anyone already tested it? Beta 1 is released now.
I'm currently installing it. Will see how things gow:)

nekrosoft13
09-28-07, 07:24 AM
can you go back ?

if you have the 64bit version, i might ask for a favor, i would like the firewire drivers from it, in case the driver has newer version.

AthlonXP1800
09-28-07, 08:09 AM
can you go back ?

if you have the 64bit version, i might ask for a favor, i would like the firewire drivers from it, in case the driver has newer version.

I could do it for you, I have Vista 64bit installed on VMware but I seemed cant find Vista 64bit SP1 anywhere on newsgroups and torrents, only available is Vista 32bit SP1 update and full version. :(

DRen72
09-28-07, 08:10 AM
can you go back ? I'd like to know that too.

nekrosoft13
09-28-07, 08:36 AM
i'm planning on grabbing new firewire driver from Server 2008 RC0 if there is one.

Phyxion
09-28-07, 09:59 AM
Just installed it on localized build. I grabbed the version with all languages, and now I have Dutch and English next to eachother, and half of the things don't work anymore (Configuration). So I try to revert back :)

AthlonXP1800
09-28-07, 10:21 AM
i'm planning on grabbing new firewire driver from Server 2008 RC0 if there is one.

Good news, I found Windows Server 2008 RC0 x64 on Technet, I wonder what the driver file name for firewire?

nekrosoft13
09-28-07, 11:28 AM
i need to check at home, i think its 3 or 4 files, but i would need the entire package with INF and so on. I will have to check

Phyxion
09-28-07, 12:03 PM
Going to reinstall Windows, this isn't going to work. Other users also got a mark on the desktop, I didn't got that, something must be terrible wrong :)

Greg
09-28-07, 09:09 PM
can you go back ?...
You can uninstall SP1 beta, if that's what you are asking.

Phyxion
09-29-07, 08:17 AM
You can uninstall SP1 beta, if that's what you are asking.
But then you should be able to access the uninstallers, that wasn't possible anymore for me, so I ended up reinstalling Vista, lol.

AthlonXP1800
09-30-07, 02:32 AM
nekrosoft13, I found the Firewire inf and files on Windows Server 2008 RC0 and uploaded to RapidShare server for you.

1394.inf_260f5bbf.rar has 4 files:

1394.inf
1394bus.sys
component.man
ohci1394.sys

2 system files version are 6.0.6001.16659.

http://rapidshare.com/files/59232937/1394.inf_260f5bbf.rar.html

Hope it work for you. :)

nekrosoft13
09-30-07, 10:50 AM
thank you, i will give it a try


hmm, one file is missing

1394.PNF

i think i also need

amd64_1394.inf_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6000.20571_non e_55a69d51da7454c1 in C:\Windows\winsxs

LycosV
09-30-07, 12:44 PM
A beta of a service pack scares me. I'm not sure I believe that you can really uninstall it.

ViN86
09-30-07, 01:21 PM
ill wait for the release :o

AthlonXP1800
09-30-07, 10:43 PM
thank you, i will give it a try


hmm, one file is missing

1394.PNF

i think i also need

amd64_1394.inf_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6000.20571_non e_55a69d51da7454c1 in C:\Windows\winsxs

It took me a while to searching for 1394.PNF and found it but I noticed here are 2 1394 files in inf folder.

I uploaded 1 file amd64_1394.inf.resources_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6001 .16659_en-us_beacb526da5d343a.rar, it contained 2 folders:

amd64_1394.inf.resources_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6001 .16659_en-us_beacb526da5d343a in C:\Windows\winsxs, this folder contain 2 files:

1394.inf_loc
ohci1394.sys.mui

and

inf in C:\Windows, this folder contain 2 files:

1394.inf
1394.PNF

http://rapidshare.com/files/59429946/amd64_1394.inf.resources_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.6001 .16659_en-us_beacb526da5d343a.rar.html

Hope it got everything you need to get it work. :)

4Aces
10-01-07, 02:25 AM
A beta of a service pack scares me. I'm not sure I believe that you can really uninstall it.

It's still a Beta OS what did you expect? They don't even have DriectX hammered out. You guys go ahead and pay to test their beta's just like we did for Win ME, myself I'll wait till they come out with a real OS, maybe vienna will be the final like XP was to ME. You watch this thing won't be around any longer than ME was.

nekrosoft13
10-01-07, 06:27 AM
It's still a Beta OS what did you expect? They don't even have DriectX hammered out. You guys go ahead and pay to test their beta's just like we did for Win ME, myself I'll wait till they come out with a real OS, maybe vienna will be the final like XP was to ME. You watch this thing won't be around any longer than ME was.

great another "genius", you have no idea what you are talking about

xp final to me? xp was completly different then me, xp was updated 2k, me was updated 98. totally based on different kernel.

monkey reads some bs on web, and tries to spread it everywhere else.

Dragunov
10-01-07, 07:07 AM
Vista is a good OS, the only problem is the lack of 3rd party programmers to make compatible drivers, programs, .... for Vista

Like Adobe told the community u better buy the new Photoshop cause they didn't update the old one anymore to completely support Vista (so who to blame, MS??)

Same with the drivers, most companies just want us to buy new hardware to make even more profit, than writing drivers for the old products where they don't have any profit at all with continuous support (who to blame, MS???)

Yes, of course, Vista has his bugs, flaws, but XP had them aswell on release day, even now I still find bugs in XP ...

nekrosoft13
10-01-07, 07:16 AM
Same with the drivers, most companies just want us to buy new hardware to make even more profit, than writing drivers for the old products where they don't have any profit at all with continuous support (who to blame, MS???)



i got lucky i got every driver i needed on release date except build in modem in laptop.

newfiejudd
10-01-07, 07:38 AM
Hey Guys,

I have installed VISTA SP1 the latest (forget the Build Number, 16559 I think) If your looking for an increase in gaming performance guess again. I showed very minimal increases in 3dMark 06.

Although the overall system does seem to be much more responsive.

My best score was with X64 SP1 running SLI with 8800GTS
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/resultanalyzer.jsp?projectType=14&XLID=0&UID=11267987

nekrosoft13
10-01-07, 07:44 AM
i got the 64bit sp1, i will test it only laptop. 1.7gb crazy stuff

Q
10-01-07, 03:53 PM
I have installed VISTA SP1 the latest (forget the Build Number, 16559 I think) If your looking for an increase in gaming performance guess again. I showed very minimal increases in 3dMark 06.

Although the overall system does seem to be much more responsive.


Thanks for the info, this is exactly what I wanted to hear. Gaming performance has been pretty darn good for several months thanks to Nvidia. System responsiveness though really needed a shot in the arm.

Bearclaw
10-01-07, 03:58 PM
Hey Guys,

I have installed VISTA SP1 the latest (forget the Build Number, 16559 I think) If your looking for an increase in gaming performance guess again. I showed very minimal increases in 3dMark 06.

Although the overall system does seem to be much more responsive.

My best score was with X64 SP1 running SLI with 8800GTS
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/resultanalyzer.jsp?projectType=14&XLID=0&UID=11267987

Thats a bummer. Thats what I am really hoping for.

zoomy942
10-01-07, 04:06 PM
i have it installed as well.

ask any questions you may have. I have it installed on my 2 tablet pc's and on a desktop.

everything seems quicker but internet explorer is ALOT more unstable