PDA

View Full Version : Just upgraded and need help!!!


mxmightymc
09-28-07, 10:52 AM
Ok I just upgraded to a qx6850 with 680i A1 and i started overclocking. My problem is that it shuts down for no apparent reason. I tested the memory with memtest overnight no errors, I used pi mod and passed.
cpu 3.7ghz
mem 1174mhz
v core 1.56v
mem 2.45v
fsb 1.5v
spp 1.6v
mcp 1.5v

Labyrinth
09-28-07, 11:39 AM
Just out of curiosity, was there anything wrong with your Striker Extreme?

nightmare beta
09-28-07, 12:22 PM
Ok I just upgraded to a qx6850 with 680i A1 and i started overclocking. My problem is that it shuts down for no apparent reason. I tested the memory with memtest overnight no errors, I used pi mod and passed.
cpu 3.7ghz
mem 1174mhz
v core 1.56v
mem 2.45v
fsb 1.5v
spp 1.6v
mcp 1.5v

lower your vcore to about ~1.43 at most.

your mem is way too high, try bringing it down to about 2.0 V.

Keep your fsb only .1v past lowest setting, and keep mcp and spp at lowest setting.

mxmightymc
09-28-07, 12:23 PM
I had lots of problems with it! memory and not capable of high overclocking! there was also a time were I couldnt run at stock speeds at all! I had to RMA the board 3 times!

nightmare beta
09-28-07, 12:23 PM
also, the p30 bios would help.

mxmightymc
09-28-07, 12:26 PM
lower your vcore to about ~1.43 at most.

your mem is way too high, try bringing it down to about 2.0 V.

Keep your fsb only .1v past lowest setting, and keep mcp and spp at lowest setting.


Wouldn't that be to low? its a quad!
the motherboard was flashed with p30 bios!

nightmare beta
09-28-07, 12:39 PM
Wouldn't that be to low? its a quad!
the motherboard was flashed with p30 bios!

no, i wouldn't think so.

if you're only oc'ing the cpu and ram, then it's best to leave the spp and mcp at lowest possible voltage.

If you use only the multiplier to oc your quad, then keep the fsb voltage low.

you're ram will be best at 2.0 V. maybe 2.05V, but nothing past that.

did you install the chipset fan?

that would help; what cpu cooler do you have? did you apply it correctly?

did you seat the cpu properly?

mxmightymc
09-28-07, 12:47 PM
chipset fan was installed, and the cpu is water cooled.

mxmightymc
09-28-07, 11:03 PM
Is it true that the dominator's are not compatible with evga's 680i A1?

Amuro
09-28-07, 11:18 PM
lower your vcore to about ~1.43 at most.

your mem is way too high, try bringing it down to about 2.0 V.

Keep your fsb only .1v past lowest setting, and keep mcp and spp at lowest setting.
His memory is rated at 2.4V, 2.0 is not enough.