PDA

View Full Version : Opteron 185


Maximillian79
10-01-07, 05:07 AM
I just got myself a Opteron 185 from Ebay for US $221 :)

Hopefully Now i just need a better GFX to be able to play Cod4 decent when that comes out :)

But regarding the Opteron 185 2.6 Ghz Then i hope to be able to clock it to 3.0 Ghz
But im not sure what cooler to get for that?
Is Air enought?
I got a Thermaltake Bigwater system that i used on my AMD 64 4000+ some time back,
The pump stopped working all the sudden after 4 months thou,
I got a new and supposely Better Pump from thermaltake under warranty but I newer installed the kit again.
The experince having the PC crash in the middle of use because of pump stopping and CPU went hot did put me off Water for some while.
I were also newer to impressed with the Heat temps i got from this system anyway.
What im wondering now is if i should use the Thermaltake Big water system on my Opteron?
but maybe with a diff CPU block to get better temps with the system?
anyone can recommend something then?
Or is the rest of the Thermaltake system just to bad anyway so it would be a waste?
Or can i get the Opteron cooled well enought to go 3.0Ghz with Air?
If so wich cooler at a decent price?

Last Question
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=30464
Like shown on that link. removing the IHS, does anyone got any experince with that?
Will it be a good/necessary think to do to get the Opteron 185 to 3.0 at good temps?

sry for all the questions :headexplode: :)

But im really happy about getting this CPU and just wanna make the most of it on my old 939 board

Maximillian79
10-01-07, 02:24 PM
Cant be that there is no ppl with Opteron 185 experince here?

I know its not the newest CPU.. But with Wife going home and a 9 Mdr old son I unfortunatly dont have the money to spend on big PC parts atm.
So are excited to get the most of this.. Cant wait for Cod4

nekrosoft13
10-01-07, 02:49 PM
get the thermalright Ultra 120 extreme, that will be enough to cool it

just pair it with a nice fan

Bman212121
10-01-07, 02:55 PM
You can use air cooling on it, but it is hard to say if the chip will do 3.0ghz. The proc is basically an FX-60 and I haven't been able to get mine up that high, but I've seen others that have.

I would probably use a good air cooler over the big water setup, as it will actually deliever better performance. Something like the thermalright ultra 120 should work nicely. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835109125

Also, you don't really want to even attempt to remove the IHS because they are on there very good and you'll risk breaking the chip trying to remove it. The advantages of taking it off are slim and unless you are trying to sqeeze every last mhz out of the chip wouldn't be worth doing so.

Redeemed
10-01-07, 03:06 PM
You should be able to hit 3Ghz no problem with the Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme. ;)

CaptNKILL
10-01-07, 03:26 PM
I think you might need a separate mounting plate to use the Ultra 120 on a Socket 939.

Or maybe that was just the Extreme.

Redeemed
10-01-07, 03:30 PM
I think you might need a separate mounting plate to use the Ultra 120 on a Socket 939.

Or maybe that was just the Extreme.

Depending on the mobo actually... and the HS should come with the mounting plate anyways...

CaptNKILL
10-01-07, 03:43 PM
Depending on the mobo actually... and the HS should come with the mounting plate anyways...
Thats what I'm saying. :p

The Ultra 120 Extreme doesn't come with Socket 939 board mounting plates.

I don't know if the non extreme does.

Maximillian79
10-01-07, 04:10 PM
I been looking into the The Ultra 120 Extreme and U can buy a bracket so it fits socket 939

Guess I will have to pay the price and get that then... :)
It just costs nearly 95 US $ here in denmark....
Bit pricy.. but shipping would probably eat the price diff anyway if i ordered from US.

will deff try to see if I can get it to 3.0 with the IHS on..
Can always try to take it off.. if it does run hot.

CaptNKILL
10-01-07, 04:17 PM
For over $300 US total, I really hope you can hit 3Gghz at least. Thats a lot of money. :o

Maximillian79
10-01-07, 04:25 PM
For over $300 US total, I really hope you can hit 3Gghz at least. Thats a lot of money. :o

I really hate everything beeing so Expensive over here :(

btw i just looked at ordering that Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme HS
and i need to select a Thermalright K8 Bolt-Thru Kit to get it on my socket 939 Board.
But then there is also a Back plate wich they say are needed for some boards.

I haven't had my ASUS A8N-Sli Premium board out in ages.
so cant remember if there is a back plate behind it..
Anyone knows?

Have searched google for pictures but can only find pictures showing the front side of the board

CaptNKILL
10-01-07, 05:01 PM
I know I needed the backplate that came with my XP 90 when I had that on my 939 board. I'd get the backplate too just to be safe.

dandano
10-03-07, 03:27 PM
Opty 185 here too, no OC tho.

Isn't the HT 2000MHz on the FX-60 and 1000MHz on the Opteron 185?

Redeemed
10-03-07, 03:38 PM
Opty 185 here too, no OC tho.

Isn't the HT 2000MHz on the FX-60 and 1000MHz on the Opteron 185?

LOL- no. They're both the same.

http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content_type/white_papers_and_tech_docs/30431.pdf

• HyperTransport™ Technology to I/O Devices
– One 16-bit link supporting speeds up to 1 GHz
(2000 MT/s) or 4 Gigabytes/s in each direction

The Opteron185 and A64 FX-60 are 100% identical save for the FX-60 having unlocked multiplier. ;)