PDA

View Full Version : Sick of slow copy/move operations in Vista? Check this out


ViN86
10-01-07, 09:22 PM
well, found this freaking SHWEEET shell extension that will handle your file copying and moving. it's as fast as if not faster than XP. just install it and go to Menu -> Options and set it as the default handler for all file moving/copying.

ABSOLUTELY AWESOME :D

enjoy. and oh yea, its freeware.

http://majorgeeks.com/TeraCopy_d5674.html

crainger
10-01-07, 09:45 PM
I've been meaning to try this for ages. Seems to work pretty well. Will come in handy shifting recorded shows around.

crainger
10-02-07, 01:44 AM
KK. I tried both version 1.22 and the 1.25beta for 64 bit OS. But I can't get it to replace the default drag/drop and copy paste! It works fine at work on Vista 32. Has anyone on Vista 64 had any luck getting Tera to act as the default?

nVJoe
10-02-07, 05:18 PM
Downloading the client.

einstein_314
10-02-07, 07:33 PM
KK. I tried both version 1.22 and the 1.25beta for 64 bit OS. But I can't get it to replace the default drag/drop and copy paste! It works fine at work on Vista 32. Has anyone on Vista 64 had any luck getting Tera to act as the default?
I just tried them both as well and I can't get it to replace the default copy dialog. Works great if you use it separately...but that's a bit of a pain...

ViN86
10-02-07, 07:37 PM
I just tried them both as well and I can't get it to replace the default copy dialog. Works great if you use it separately...but that's a bit of a pain...
thats weird, do you all have UAC disabled?

Bearclaw
10-02-07, 08:01 PM
I just tried them both as well and I can't get it to replace the default copy dialog. Works great if you use it separately...but that's a bit of a pain...
Thats what I figured you would have to do. I haven't tried it yet because if it doesn't replace the default copy/paste dialog then it is indeed a pain in the ass to use.

einstein_314
10-02-07, 09:08 PM
thats weird, do you all have UAC disabled?
Yup. It just doesn't popup at all. I have the option in the settings set to use it as the default copy/paste thinger, but it doesn't work. I have to start the program, drag files into it, and pick a destination for it to work.

crainger
10-02-07, 10:16 PM
Yup. I have UAC disabled and it still refuses to replace the default cpy/move :(

SH64
10-02-07, 10:35 PM
Sounds cool ... gonna check it out!

ViN86
10-02-07, 10:50 PM
Yup. It just doesn't popup at all. I have the option in the settings set to use it as the default copy/paste thinger, but it doesn't work. I have to start the program, drag files into it, and pick a destination for it to work.
when you right-click on a file does it give "Teracopy" as an option under "Play"?

also, did you restart? (by the time you read this you probably have...)

and i assume you have administrator privileges?

crainger
10-02-07, 11:54 PM
when you right-click on a file does it give "Teracopy" as an option under "Play"?

also, did you restart? (by the time you read this you probably have...)

and i assume you have administrator privileges?

For me I get the Teracopy option on right click. Which works very well. It's just it wont replace the default drag and drop. This occurs in 1.22 as it didn't support 64bit OSes, the 1.25beta is supposed to fix this issue for both XP64 and Vista64, but alas no it didn't. Ima email the creator and let him know, there is a good chance others are finding this issue and a fix is well on it's way... I hope. :D

Until then the Vista method works fine for smaller files since the reliability packs, but Tera is awesome for sending things of to my HTPC. :D

Single Player
10-03-07, 04:55 AM
1.13GB file without teracopy 1 min and 11 sec. With teracopy 59 sec.

nothing to say

Dragunov
10-03-07, 06:21 AM
MS better implement this in their OS

ViN86
10-18-07, 12:56 AM
1.13GB file without teracopy 1 min and 11 sec. With teracopy 59 sec.

nothing to say
oh, i forgot to tell you all.

if you click the "More" button you can increase the buffer to 20MB (i believe it was 20). anyway, that will speed file transfers up even more :)

Dazz
10-21-07, 05:08 PM
You can get the new beta here http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/TeraCopy-Download-72784.html

ViN86
10-21-07, 07:05 PM
You can get the new beta here http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/TeraCopy-Download-72784.html
ooooh, danke :)

crainger
10-21-07, 07:13 PM
Still doesn't replace default copy/move on Vista 64bit :(