PDA

View Full Version : When do you know when to stop?


Airbrushkid
10-04-07, 01:33 AM
When overclocking you video card how do you know when to stop? And where can I find a artifacts tool?

LORD-eX-Bu
10-04-07, 01:37 AM
use rivatuner to help you watch your temps and find artifacts.

Usually start off small and keep going up until you are satisfied or the system shows artifacts or locks up, then start scaling back until you find a stable clock. Don't go nuts and try to OC 200 Mhz at a time, you'll just get frustrated:lol:

MUYA
10-04-07, 01:43 AM
use rivatuner to help you watch your temps and find artifacts. ...you'll just get frustrated:lol:
or you will reduce your card to deadweight? ;)

Well maybe not...but...what Ex Bu said stands..don't expect huge overclocks like Core2Duo CPUs

Airbrushkid
10-04-07, 01:56 AM
Isn't there tool to find artifacts? I didn't notice one in rivatuner.

Airbrushkid
10-04-07, 02:30 AM
So far as my 8800 GTS 320 stock is 576/837 and now over clocked 650/1523/1025.

SLippe
10-04-07, 02:56 AM
ATITool

Airbrushkid
10-04-07, 03:26 AM
I ran into a problem. I went a little bit to far. It freezes and artifacts. I right now can boot to the desktop. Finally got Rivatuner set to default clocks. But still freezes and artifacts in umder a minute.

I am running dual boot. So when I boot into Vista its fine. But uner XP where I overclock it has the problem. How can I fix? I tried to go to safemode but with dual boot it only lets my do that in Vista. But not XP.

Tr1cK
10-04-07, 09:16 AM
When overclocking you video card how do you know when to stop? And where can I find a artifacts tool?

Stop when you see smoke.
J/k

Airbrushkid
10-04-07, 10:34 AM
It's back to normal now. I could not stay long enough in XP to unistall Rivatuner before it would freeze. So I booted into Vista and went in the partition that XP was in. Found the folder for Rivatuner and double click the uninstall and it did. Rebooted and I'm happy now.

XDanger
10-04-07, 01:58 PM
wheres that 8800 strap list thing at