PDA

View Full Version : 3 x 8600GT cards


flare
10-04-07, 02:58 AM
I'm trying to fit three of these cards into a system, has anybody come across thin enough cards to achieve this ? This is for PCIe slots.

SH64
10-04-07, 03:00 AM
3 as in Tri-SLI ?

SLippe
10-04-07, 03:00 AM
3? And what kind of motherboard do you have to allow 3 cards?

flare
10-04-07, 03:06 AM
The motherboard actually allows for 4 PCIe slots, it is a TYAN S2915. We wish to drive 6 30" Dell monitors, currently driving 4 monitors. One system has 2 x 7900, which are too big to allow 3 cards, and the other system currently has two xpert 8600GT cards, but these are too thick as well.

Capt. Picard
10-04-07, 03:16 AM
The motherboard actually allows for 4 PCIe slots, it is a TYAN S2915. We wish to drive 6 30" Dell monitors, currently driving 4 monitors. One system has 2 x 7900, which are too big to allow 3 cards, and the other system currently has two xpert 8600GT cards, but these are too thick as well.

If you want to drive multiple monitors, why don't you just buy a video splitter with multiple outlets. It's much cheaper. Then you'll need only one card.

http://www.aten.com/products/productItem.php?pcid=2005010513171002&psid=20050117102733002&pid=2005022214039005&layerid=subClass6

flare
10-04-07, 03:19 AM
we don't want to run multiple individual outputs we want to run xinerama over all 6, eventually over all 8

flare
10-29-07, 12:39 AM
We did manage to achieve this using a combination of different 8600 cards, two with fans and one passively cooled.

Unfortunately, we were testing it running an opengl screensaver, and the unit's motherboard failed.

Bman212121
10-29-07, 01:13 AM
What you really want is a workstation card, not a desktop card. Something similar to this would probably be better suited for what you are doing. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814133165

It has 2 stereo outputs on the card, which means one card can push 4 displays. I'm not sure if this one would allow you to get the full resolution out of each monitor though. You might want to contact Nvidia or Matrox and see if they have anything that will fit the bill. I'm sure you could probably find some 8 series cards that might fit on that board, but a true quad display card would probably be easier to set up and manage in the long run.

Also, what are you trying to run on that many displays? The sheer amount of video that would create would probably become a major bottleneck for the computer it's in. We're talking a 10240 x 3120 resolution or about 32MP of screen.

flare
10-29-07, 07:24 PM
Hi

We currently are running trading applications over 4 screens. The card you suggested whilst good does not support the resolutions we are currently using which is 2560 x1600.

We do not need the cards to be high performance in terms of games etc, the quaddro4 is a good solution only if it supported higher resolutions.

Thanks