PDA

View Full Version : q6600 not compatible =(


Pages : [1] 2

kingme02
10-04-07, 11:19 PM
GUYSSS
I just received my q6600 today im real sad. It didnt work, Im guessing my motherboard doesnt support it. The Power doesnt even come on for the pc, when i put back the e4300 1.80 processor it works again. My motherboard is just stock with that e4300. I'm hoping i can refund with Newegg ..300$
SO what processor will work with my motherboard?
should i just buy another motherboard?what do you reccommend not too pricey plz. My motherboard is lga775 socket, its Intel corp. Model D945GCF. Where can i find compatible processor upgrades? Or a good motherboard?

Airbrushkid
10-04-07, 11:28 PM
You needed to research that board before throwing money around. I just did a search and it was so easy a caveman could do it. The search shows that the board does not support a Quad. But that was a very fast search and I may have missed something. I keep the Quad and buy a board that will support it. Then sell off the old board.

shabby
10-04-07, 11:30 PM
I dont think any 945g boards will support a quadcore, i know my p5ld2-vm doesnt. You're outta luck, get a better mobo or stick with a dual core.

kingme02
10-04-07, 11:56 PM
hm ok i been looking at some boards at newegg and some say, quad core pentium(most of em) and some say core 2 quad is it the same thing?

kingme02
10-05-07, 12:01 AM
will the 2 1gb sticks ddr2(stock) from my intel motherboard go onto another motherboard

Rytr
10-05-07, 12:10 AM
hm ok i been looking at some boards at newegg and some say, quad core pentium(most of em) and some say core 2 quad is it the same thing?

None will say quad core pentium...I will go out on a limb and say that I think you are seeing Pentium 4 which is not the same thing. Look for 'Core 2 or 'Core Duo' boards and check the specs to see if they are 'Quad' compatible. You can alleviate the confusion by purchasing one of the P35 boards. There are a couple priced around $100 that are getting good reviews from buyers. They are priced cheaper because they do not come with all the extras, many of which you may not use or want anyway.

Rytr
10-05-07, 12:15 AM
will the 2 1gb sticks ddr2(stock) from my intel motherboard go onto another motherboard

If its rated PC6400, the general answer is 'yes.' If its rated less, like PC5400, 5300, or lower, 'maybe.' It depends on the motherboard's bios.

Of course, we are talking about DDR2 compatible motherboards...

kingme02
10-05-07, 12:16 AM
how bout this quad core goodness compatible with my fresh q6600?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128059

Will my stock ddr2 ram from my pc go to this motherboard?

Rytr
10-05-07, 12:53 AM
Hehe, that happens to be the P35 board I was thinking about. It has been noted as even accepting some PC5300 ram. You have not stated what ram you actually have so I can not even guess if it will work or not. Even if I knew it I still could not state with 100% confidence that it would work...you just do not ever know with motherboard between different mfg's of ram even with the same exact chips mounted on the PCBs. You just don't know until you try it. (Still, good quality DDR2 ram is relatively inexpensive, example: 2matched 1 GB sticks for under $100.)

kingme02
10-05-07, 02:16 AM
for the cd /dvd -+ rw drive can i just move that to the other motherboard?

Saintster
10-05-07, 02:37 AM
It just amazes me how many people just buy things and then plop them in and then go ohh that won't work.

Airbrushkid
10-05-07, 02:40 AM
Yes but what ram do you have?

Greeno
10-05-07, 03:04 AM
Download :- http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpu-z-141.zip

And give us what information you can about your RAM mate.

That way we can help you.

Also, beware a lot of P35 boards don't have floppy support (if you need it) and some only have 1 IDE port (incase you have more than one optical drive on separate channels).

kingme02
10-05-07, 05:40 AM
type: ddr2. I have 2 1gb sticks, says frequency 266.7 mhz(pc2-4300)
Manufacturer: Hyundai Electronics. Timing: 4-4-4-12. Bank cycle time: 16
voltage:1.8

Vasot02
10-05-07, 07:18 AM
It just amazes me how many people just buy things and then plop them in and then go ohh that won't work.

Clearly everyone is an expert...:thinker:

Greeno
10-05-07, 07:27 AM
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/FileList/MemorySupport/motherboard_memory_ga-p35-ds3l_1.0.pdf

Shows 667MHz --> 1066MHz

A further poke in the manual confirms this too... I think it might be time for an upgrade mate.

kingme02
10-05-07, 07:30 AM
I'm interested in this motherboard: i checked the memory compatibility list for the GIGABYTE p35-dS3L
http://www.gigabyte.us/FileList/MemorySupport/motherboard_memory_ga-p35-ds3l_2.0.pdf

It doesnt say my memory but i want to know has anyone used G-SKILL memory with this motherboard because im looking at that.

Joe Public
10-05-07, 07:42 AM
Clearly everyone is an expert...:thinker:

I have to agree, though I myself am aware of the chipset compatilbility issue, when it says a CPU is LGA775 and you have a LGA775 motherboard, a person without more in-depth knowledge of computers would assume it would work. Just like the fact that a square block fits in the square hole and not the triangular one. At least it's a lesson learned, and the customer will know better next time. Intel should print a heads up on the box, that "this CPU may not work on LGA775 boards with older chipsets".

kingme02
10-05-07, 08:01 AM
I have to agree, though I myself am aware of the chipset compatilbility issue, when it says a CPU is LGA775 and you have a LGA775 motherboard, a person without more in-depth knowledge of computers would assume it would work. Just like the fact that a square block fits in the square hole and not the triangular one. At least it's a lesson learned, and the customer will know better next time. Intel should print a heads up on the box, that "this CPU may not work on LGA775 boards with older chipsets".
That was exactly me =(. But now i know...I still want to use this q6600 though.(this cpu may not work on lga775 boards with older chipsets) They should say something like that on websites like newegg and on the box. Would save people like me some trouble.

Airbrushkid
10-05-07, 08:20 AM
Looking.

That was exactly me =(. But now i know...I still want to use this q6600 though.(this cpu may not work on lga775 boards with older chipsets) They should say something like that on websites like newegg and on the box. Would save people like me some trouble.

Airbrushkid
10-05-07, 08:29 AM
I'm amazed that I could not find that motherboard on Intel's website.

kingme02
10-05-07, 08:49 AM
OK i think im ready to buy my new motherboard(GIGABYTE GA-p35-DS3L) and i want to transfer all the things from my old motherboard to this new motherboard. I know most things on my old mobo will transfer to the new GIGABYTE mobo no problems. The only thing i think would be a problem is the memory unless im really mistaken :( So i am going to get this :http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211066. The cd/dvd drive will transfer ok right?
I hope this will all work out :banghead:


Hope to use this q6600.

Tr1cK
10-05-07, 09:10 AM
The memory should work as long as it's the same type. (DDR or DDR2) It may not run at an optimal speed, but it should work in the mean time.

It sounds like you have a pre-built pc?

Make sure they both are the same form factor. If the original motherboard is micro ATX (which a lot of OEMs use) then an ATX won't fit in its place and you will have to get a new case.

If it's pre-built then the power supply may not be sufficient enough to keep up.

Also, OEM vendor copy of Windows may not install on a non-OEM board.

Good Luck.

kingme02
10-05-07, 10:00 AM
This is the exact pc i have: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3169480&body=MAIN#detailspecs
but the things i added are an EvGA 8800 gts 320mb, an OCZ 600W psu,a sound card, a 250gb WD internal HD, and a Zalman cnps9500 cooler

Thanks for telling me lol you might have saved me from another stupid decision, i found out my motherboard is Micro ATX, now i cant buy this GIGABYTE mobo but am looking at this one now :http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128061

I would like one 100$ or less if you find a better one please tell me.

Tr1cK
10-05-07, 10:23 AM
Also, make sure the case has a removable back plate so that the board may be changed out.