nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=100321)

Airbrushkid 10-13-07 08:27 PM

Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?
 
First I'm running a dual boot set up. I overclocked my cpu. And ran Prime95 and Orthos. And it's stable in Windows XP Pro. So I boot up in Vista and it hangs, freezes. Can someone tell me why it would do this?

hokeyplyr48 10-15-07 08:41 PM

Re: Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?
 
have you tried backing off your overclock till you can boot into vista? what's the difference between the xp and vista overclock? if it's large something is probably wrong, but if it's very minimal then probably normal. Different OS is probably the answer then.

j0j081 10-16-07 04:09 AM

Re: Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?
 
my highest xp overclock isn't stable in vista either. thought i had it tested good in xp then was doing some routine work in vista and pc froze. thought it might have been a fluke so let it alone but soon happened again. had to back down 50 mhz so it's stable in both.

Xion X2 10-16-07 06:07 AM

Re: Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?
 
The OS itself would have nothing to do with how much you can overclock a CPU, so you must have either corrupted your benching program or your operating system while overclock-testing.

Install Windows again.

Dazz 10-16-07 12:26 PM

Re: Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?
 
No it's true it's the same with me, i can run 3.4GHz fine under XP play games etc no problems, but when i boot in vista it just reboots till you lower the overclock.

Slammin 10-18-07 11:33 AM

Re: Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?
 
Vista is much more sensitive to ram issues than XP is. If your OC is failing under Vista, I would definitely check that ram is 100% stable under XP.

Also Vista64, at least in my case idles my cpu higher than XP does, so it's really not surprising that an on-the-edge XP OC may not work well with Vista.

Revs 10-18-07 11:49 AM

Re: Overclock stable in one OS but not in another why?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Slammin
Vista is much more sensitive to ram issues than XP is. If your OC is failing under Vista, I would definitely check that ram is 100% stable under XP.

I would agree with that. Also, when I 1st got Vista, I couldn't OC my graphics card at high as I could in XP. This problem has gone for me as newer drivers have come out.:o


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.