nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Help overclocking my E6750 alittle more!? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=100351)

ATOJAR 10-14-07 03:50 PM

Help overclocking my E6750 alittle more!?
 
Ok guys i could do with alittle help here! got my e6750 running stable at 3.2GHz, any higher and i get a blue screen of death just after the windows loading bar! ...... ive tried my memory timings at 5-5-5-15 with 2.40v ..... also tried the cpu voltage right up to 1.45v running a 1:1 ratio ..... anybody got any thing i could try?(system specs are in my sig)

ive alos tried turning off both speedstep & C1E support.

tacos4me 10-14-07 03:56 PM

Re: Help overclocking my E6750 alittle more!?
 
What does the blue screen say? Also make sure you've disabled any spread spectrum settings.

mullet 10-14-07 03:59 PM

Re: Help overclocking my E6750 alittle more!?
 
I think your ram is holding you back, you will need to go beyond 400fsb to make a difference. You will have to use 401fsb and above to get past the stepping on that NB. Say 425x8=3.4, with the ram you have you would need loose timings and the rated volts that your ram set for.

ATOJAR 10-14-07 04:21 PM

Re: Help overclocking my E6750 alittle more!?
 
what? looser timings than 5-5-5-15?

Xion X2 10-14-07 04:58 PM

Re: Help overclocking my E6750 alittle more!?
 
He has 800MHz memory, so that shouldn't be posing a problem if he's running a 9x multiplier (which he should be.) His memory is probably overheating.. you need to back the voltage way the hell down. No one needs 2.4v for 800MHz RAM. I'm running mine at 834MHz on 1.9v...

Try upping the voltage a little more on the CPU if backing down the voltage on the RAM doesn't help. If that doesn't work then increase the voltage on your northbridge by one tenth of a volt.

Revs 10-14-07 05:00 PM

Re: Help overclocking my E6750 alittle more!?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ATOJAR
what? looser timings than 5-5-5-15?

U tried lowering the multiplier?? I've seen them CPU's running 4.0. Mine'll go to 3.7 but there is no performance gain cos this Striker has a stupid 420mhz FSB strap. I couldn't get past about 3.2 with 9x but 8x gives me alot more scope for CPU clocks.

As u can see in my sig i've not had to increase the timings either.

Xion's right about the vCore too. Going from 1.45 to 1.5 enabled a huge leap in overclockability for me. Just make sure it's an actual 1.5v and not a 1.5v setting. Mine's set to 1.525v on Auto which gives me a totally stable 1.5v (actual).

ATOJAR 10-14-07 05:05 PM

Re: Help overclocking my E6750 alittle more!?
 
1 Attachment(s)
heres what i have at the moment(see attachment)

the error messages i get in the bios says "IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUALS"

or

if i put the memory timings any higher i get this message "MEMORY_MANAGEMENT"

Revs 10-14-07 05:10 PM

Re: Help overclocking my E6750 alittle more!?
 
What's the default multiplier?

Xion X2 10-14-07 05:14 PM

Re: Help overclocking my E6750 alittle more!?
 
Look, just set your multiplier at 9x in your BIOS, set your FSB at 378, set your RAM at 756, and set your CPU voltage at 1.5v. That outta get you stable at 3.4GHz. 1.5v should allow you a ceiling all the way to 3.5GHz or so just by increasing the FSB a little at a time and setting your RAM exactly twice your FSB speed.

But for heavens sake.. reduce the voltage on your RAM before it melts into your memory slots. 2.0-2.1v should be enough.

Quote:

What's the default multiplier?
Should be 9x with that proc, but some mobos will default to 8 for some reason. He definitely needs to set that to 9 since he has 800MHz RAM.

ATOJAR 10-14-07 05:15 PM

Re: Help overclocking my E6750 alittle more!?
 
6 i think.

ATOJAR 10-14-07 05:16 PM

Re: Help overclocking my E6750 alittle more!?
 
i cant set the multiplyer to 9 ... 8 is the highest.

Xion X2 10-14-07 05:18 PM

Re: Help overclocking my E6750 alittle more!?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ATOJAR
i cant set the multiplyer to 9 ... 8 is the highest.

Are you sure that motherboard won't allow you to set a 9x multiplier!?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.