nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Networking And Security (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   1mb/s?? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=101085)

methimpikehoses 10-27-07 12:56 AM

1mb/s??
 
Preface: I'm a complete noob regarding all things networking...

How are people getting 900kb/s+ download speeds on the Crysis demo and other things? Mine maxes out at about 150kb/s... is this purely hardware, or is there some setting I can change?

Running an ethernet converter that connects wirelessly to a mac airstation upstairs, which in turn connects to Comcast DSL.

Thanks for any help... sorry the details are so sketchy. :o

Uberpwnage 10-27-07 01:07 AM

Re: 1mb/s??
 
Personally I use a download manager when downloading these demos, thats the only way I can max out my connection speed when they're under such high demand. However, If you aren't getting max connection speeds downloading files like display drivers which aren't under such load, then It's probably a configuration issue. What's the rated speed of your DSL?

methimpikehoses 10-27-07 01:32 AM

Re: 1mb/s??
 
It's actually Qwest (not Comcast woops)... and I should be able to get up to 1.5mb/s.

Uberpwnage 10-27-07 02:38 AM

Re: 1mb/s??
 
1.5MB/s or 1.5Mb/s? 1.5 MegaBytes per second is drastically different from 1.5 Megabits per second. ISP's usually advertise their speeds in megabits because they're more marketing friendly. Unfortunately, users never actually see their speed in this unit, download speeds are almost always shown in Bytes. Since 8 bits = 1 Byte, theres quite a big difference.

I checked Qwest's site, and they advertise 256Kbps, 1.5Mbps, and 7Mbps packages. Having an actual 1500KB/s Download speed would require a ~12Mbps line.

So if their advertised speed for your package is 1.5Mbps then a 150KB/s DL speed sounds about right. If this is the case, you may want to consider upgrading your service to the 7mbps package, as that would provide you with download speeds close to 900KB/s. If they advertise 12Mbps then you should be expecting the 1.5MB/s.

I used to use a optimizer tool that worked well in XP, and helped my connection out a bit, but it's rather useless in vista, which I assume is what you're running most of the time.

methimpikehoses 10-27-07 03:35 AM

Re: 1mb/s??
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Uberpwnage
1.5MB/s or 1.5Mb/s? 1.5 MegaBytes per second is drastically different from 1.5 Megabits per second. ISP's usually advertise their speeds in megabits because they're more marketing friendly. Unfortunately, users never actually see their speed in this unit, download speeds are almost always shown in Bytes. Since 8 bits = 1 Byte, theres quite a big difference.

I checked Qwest's site, and they advertise 256Kbps, 1.5Mbps, and 7Mbps packages. Having an actual 1500KB/s Download speed would require a ~12Mbps line.

So if their advertised speed for your package is 1.5Mbps then a 150KB/s DL speed sounds about right. If this is the case, you may want to consider upgrading your service to the 7mbps package, as that would provide you with download speeds close to 900KB/s. If they advertise 12Mbps then you should be expecting the 1.5MB/s.

I used to use a optimizer tool that worked well in XP, and helped my connection out a bit, but it's rather useless in vista, which I assume is what you're running most of the time.

Well count me in as a noob who went for the lower case "b"!

Thanks for clearing that up for me.

Redeemed 10-27-07 04:16 AM

Re: 1mb/s??
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by methimpikehoses
Well count me in as a noob who went for the lower case "b"!

Thanks for clearing that up for me.

So many times at work I have to explain this very thing to customers. They see the "Mbps" and instantly think "MegaBytes /second" and I have to correct them... at which point they usually lose interest in what I'm saying. :p

sammy sung 10-27-07 04:40 AM

Re: 1mb/s??
 
My line is ADSL 2.5/24mbit but its "up to" those numbers ,in reality it translates into 2.10/13.20mbit wich means my upload is around 260kbs and download 1700kbs.Reaching 1700 is usually only done when using well seeded torrentfiles or something.

methimpikehoses 10-27-07 04:17 PM

Re: 1mb/s??
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Redeemed
So many times at work I have to explain this very thing to customers. They see the "Mbps" and instantly think "MegaBytes /second" and I have to correct them... at which point they usually lose interest in what I'm saying. :p

I can't imagine having to explain that to people every day... I would :headexplode: . It is pretty misleading... I bet people are complaining about it all the time.

Capt. Picard 10-27-07 04:35 PM

Re: 1mb/s??
 
What really fries customers' noodles is if you start explaining the difference between baud rate and bit rate to them.

evilghost 10-27-07 08:22 PM

Re: 1mb/s??
 
([Speed in MBit] * 10^6)/8/1024 = Kb/sec. ~150Kb/sec is pretty good for a 1.5Mbit line considering overhead.

methimpikehoses 10-28-07 01:44 AM

Re: 1mb/s??
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by evilghost
([Speed in MBit] * 10^6)/8/1024 = Kb/sec. ~150Kb/sec is pretty good for a 1.5Mbit line considering overhead.

(alf)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.