nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   1280x800 framebuffer, please help. (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=101323)

Sblantipodi 10-30-07 02:46 PM

1280x800 framebuffer, please help.
 
Hi,
I've got an nvidia 8600M GT.
I want to enable framebuffer but my native resolution is 1280x800...
Is there someone who can help me setting this resolution on framebuffer please?

Thanks!
Davide.

evilghost 10-30-07 02:48 PM

Re: 1280x800 framebuffer, please help.
 
vga=0x368? You never list a distribution so all I can offer is the framebuffer value.

Sblantipodi 10-30-07 03:06 PM

Re: 1280x800 framebuffer, please help.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by evilghost
vga=0x368? You never list a distribution so all I can offer is the framebuffer value.

fedora 7 running 2.6.23 vanilla kernel.
vga=0x317 is ok, vga=0x368 doesn't work.
Can you help me please?

Gusar 10-30-07 05:37 PM

Re: 1280x800 framebuffer, please help.
 
Install 'vbetool' and run it. On gentoo it's part of the 'lrmi' package, don't know how to get it on fedora. Vbetool will give you a list of modes you can use, so if 1280x800 isn't one of them, you won't be able to use it.

Sblantipodi 10-30-07 05:58 PM

Re: 1280x800 framebuffer, please help.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gusar
Install 'vbetool' and run it. On gentoo it's part of the 'lrmi' package, don't know how to get it on fedora. Vbetool will give you a list of modes you can use, so if 1280x800 isn't one of them, you won't be able to use it.

I have installed vbetool.
localhost:~# vbetool vbemode get
279

but how can this help me. Please help, actually I really don't know how to use this tool to have a 1280x800 framebuffer.
Please explain me how to do it. Thanks!

Gusar 10-31-07 03:48 AM

Re: 1280x800 framebuffer, please help.
 
Just run it, without any parameters. It will give you a list of modes supported by the vbios. You can only use those modes. If 1280x800 isn't one of them, you're out of luck. From my experience, most nvidia cards do not have widescreen resolutions in their vbios.

Sblantipodi 10-31-07 07:47 AM

Re: 1280x800 framebuffer, please help.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gusar
Just run it, without any parameters. It will give you a list of modes supported by the vbios. You can only use those modes. If 1280x800 isn't one of them, you're out of luck. From my experience, most nvidia cards do not have widescreen resolutions in their vbios.

if I run:
vbetool vgamode

it return a black screen without saying anything and console hang. :(
Please help.

Gusar 10-31-07 12:33 PM

Re: 1280x800 framebuffer, please help.
 
Crap, I made a mistake. The app is 'vbetest', not 'vbetool'. But it is part of the 'lrmi' package, so if you would have installed that, you would get the correct app.

Here's the output on my machine. As you see, no 1280x800 there, so I'm stuck with 1024x768.
Code:

$ vbetest
VBE Version 3.0
NVIDIA
[256] 640x400 (256 color palette)
[257] 640x480 (256 color palette)
[259] 800x600 (256 color palette)
[261] 1024x768 (256 color palette)
[270] 320x200 (5:6:5)
[271] 320x200 (8:8:8)
[273] 640x480 (5:6:5)
[274] 640x480 (8:8:8)
[276] 800x600 (5:6:5)
[277] 800x600 (8:8:8)
[279] 1024x768 (5:6:5)
[280] 1024x768 (8:8:8)
[304] 320x200 (256 color palette)
[305] 320x400 (256 color palette)
[306] 320x400 (5:6:5)
[307] 320x400 (8:8:8)
[308] 320x240 (256 color palette)
[309] 320x240 (5:6:5)
[310] 320x240 (8:8:8)
[317] 640x400 (5:6:5)
[318] 640x400 (8:8:8)
Type a mode number, or 'q' to quit - q


Sblantipodi 10-31-07 01:20 PM

Re: 1280x800 framebuffer, please help.
 
localhost:~# vbetest
Can't get VESA info (vm86 failure)

I want a 1280x800 framebuffer :( I use it often and I don't like 1024 too much.

f1f0 10-31-07 01:38 PM

Re: 1280x800 framebuffer, please help.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sblantipodi
localhost:~# vbetest
Can't get VESA info (vm86 failure)

I want a 1280x800 framebuffer :( I use it often and I don't like 1024 too much.

You may run the console in 1280x800 with nvidiafb. Try putting the correct video parameter on boot up. You may need to recompile the kernel and compile nvidiafb driver into the kernel (not as a module) if that doesn't work (the vesafb driver if compiled into the kernel may take over all other video drivers regardless of what video params you use).

You won't be able to use or install the binary nVidia driver for X if you use nvidiafb though.

Sblantipodi 10-31-07 02:31 PM

Re: 1280x800 framebuffer, please help.
 
:( no solution in this case :(

Gusar 10-31-07 03:53 PM

Re: 1280x800 framebuffer, please help.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sblantipodi
localhost:~# vbetest
Can't get VESA info (vm86 failure)

Seems fedora kernels don't have vm86 in them, too bad. Maybe there are other ways to get the info, but I don't know any. Try 'hwinfo' if you have it. But as I said, the chances of having 1280x800 available are very low.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sblantipodi
I want a 1280x800 framebuffer :( I use it often and I don't like 1024 too much.

You'll probably have to wait for nouveaufb. Until then... well, you're not the only one not liking this situation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.