nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Crysis (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Waves on the shore ??? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=101359)

svetli_pp 10-31-07 04:34 AM

Waves on the shore ???
 
I don't understand why they removed that stunning feature of waves splashing one over another on the border between the ocean and the terrain. It was so nice in FarCry, otherwise the water in Crysis is much more beautiful almost incomparable. What do you think ? I miss those gorgeous FarCry waves on the shore, or maybe there are settings that enable them.

3DBrad 10-31-07 09:52 AM

Re: Waves on the shore ???
 
In the editor and the game therefore, you can change the tumultuous nature of the water. :)

svetli_pp 10-31-07 10:49 AM

Re: Waves on the shore ???
 
That's not what I'm talking about. In FarCry there are surfs - waves on the shore that keep spilling one over another. It is a completely different effect than the surface of the ocean going up and down. I think a separate shader does the job in FarCry and it's missing here in Crysis.

Nanosuitguy 11-01-07 12:07 AM

Re: Waves on the shore ???
 
Know what you mean, dont know why they removed it tho...

[EOCF] Tim 11-01-07 04:07 AM

Re: Waves on the shore ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by svetli_pp
That's not what I'm talking about. In FarCry there are surfs - waves on the shore that keep spilling one over another. It is a completely different effect than the surface of the ocean going up and down. I think a separate shader does the job in FarCry and it's missing here in Crysis.

That might just be cuz it isn't very windy, and just a very very calm sea. In the trailers (DX10 Flythrough) we have seen exactly what you said. :)

m3dude 11-01-07 04:21 AM

Re: Waves on the shore ???
 
the following doesnt work in dx 9, but id be curious to see someone with vista and a g80 try it. the command is e_water_waves = 1. another command to modify it is e_water_waves_tesselation_amount = x.

nayone with dx 10 and a dx10 card try it and report back

FastRedPonyCar 11-01-07 09:52 AM

Re: Waves on the shore ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by m3dude
the following doesnt work in dx 9, but id be curious to see someone with vista and a g80 try it. the command is e_water_waves = 1. another command to modify it is e_water_waves_tesselation_amount = x.

nayone with dx 10 and a dx10 card try it and report back

yes it does. I've tried it in DX9.

m3dude 11-01-07 02:28 PM

Re: Waves on the shore ???
 
can u post a screen showing the difference with it on/off?

FastRedPonyCar 11-01-07 02:39 PM

Re: Waves on the shore ???
 
I'm not at home right now but all you have to change is

e_water_ocean_fft = 0 to a value of 1
e_water_waves_tesselation_amount = 10 <- very high vs "1" for low.

Ths means that even with tesselation set to 1, you're still going to get SOME waves in DX9 just not the big choppy waves. The only thing DX10 users get without having to modify a config file is higher tesselation and the FFT is set to 1 on very high settings with DX10. FFT does some sort of extra GPU wave processing.

Another variable is "e_phys_ocean_cell" high and very high get a value of 0.5. Ultra high would be 0.2 or 0.1. This determines the level of physics applied to the ocean I believe.

Either way, I've seen so many screenshots of a tweaked DX9 config game to make me blue in the face and countless threads on numerous forums completely and utterly shattering the myth that DX10 somehow has some sort of hidden features that are completely inaccessible to DX9. DX9 can do EVERYTHING (in crysis) that DX10 can do. You just have to change config values.

m3dude 11-01-07 02:51 PM

Re: Waves on the shore ???
 
no thats not what im referring to. this is a separate water feature and doesnt work under dx 9 for me. the game wont accept any value for e_water_waves other than 0.

FastRedPonyCar 11-01-07 03:19 PM

Re: Waves on the shore ???
 
My game has a shader of sorts that is the seafoam you typically see when the wave has come and is going or something like that.

I haven't seen any video or screen shots DX9 or 10 showing actual waves crashing onto the shore.

SeriTonin 11-01-07 03:22 PM

Re: Waves on the shore ???
 
I know what your talking about, it was in a few videos.

I don't understand why they got rid of it, but then again, the game, to me, seemed so much better when it was all videos and pics of a closed door product.

Feels like Doom 3 all over again, the e3 2002 footage had much higher res textures, better lighting and for some reason the final product was watered down. (Dont give the hardware excuse, 6800's ate up doom 3)

I see it with Unreal Tournament 3 and no, not just the textures, maps look nothing like once shown.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.