nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Crysis (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Crysis turns up nose at quad (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=101895)

Rummy 11-07-07 04:13 PM

Crysis turns up nose at quad
 
http://blogs.pcworld.com/gameon/archives/005860.html :thumbdwn:

Feyy 11-07-07 04:21 PM

Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad
 
Wait for public release imo, or a swift patch after release, otherwise (po)

Only reason i got a Quad was for Crysis

Dreamingawake 11-07-07 04:25 PM

Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad
 
Harsh.

I only have a dual core, but that is harsh.:thumbdwn:

malachi1313 11-07-07 04:41 PM

Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Feyy
Wait for public release imo, or a swift patch after release, otherwise (po)

Only reason i got a Quad was for Crysis

Same here!! Got an extra 2 gig of ram for it also...

JohnDio 11-07-07 04:42 PM

Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad
 
I'm sure that both SLI and multi-core will be added via a patch ;)

agentkay 11-07-07 04:51 PM

Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad
 
I wonder how these benchmark results could have been archieved if there was NO quad core support:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...23&postcount=1

It can't be just the higher efficiency of some CPUs that explains the results or am I missing something?

J-Mag 11-07-07 07:08 PM

Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Feyy
Only reason i got a Quad was for Crysis

Hopefully you have learned not to trust marketing spins.


Quote:

Originally Posted by agentkay
I wonder how these benchmark results could have been archieved if there was NO quad core support:

It can't be just the higher efficiency of some CPUs that explains the results or am I missing something?

Do we really know what these timedemos are doing? I've always thought that software rendering tests were worthless when you use your GPU to render in the real application...

Maybe an OS related thread is taking up the 3rd or 4th core. Would there be more OS stress if an application is using CPU/Mem vs a dedicated GPU render?

brady 11-07-07 07:53 PM

Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by J-Mag
Maybe an OS related thread is taking up the 3rd or 4th core. Would there be more OS stress if an application is using CPU/Mem vs a dedicated GPU render?

That actually sounds like a very reasonable explanation.

|JuiceZ| 11-07-07 09:26 PM

Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnDio
I'm sure that both SLI and multi-core will be added via a patch ;)

x2, they would be stupid to do otherwise.

hokeyplyr48 11-07-07 09:32 PM

Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad
 
well if you have nothing else running in the background the quad and single core(s) will match in performance. But with a quad you can leave lots of other thing up in the background and still maintain those frame rates without having to close anything.

Still doesn't explain what Cevat said, but the quad is still benefiting you even if you don't notice it.

Bman212121 11-07-07 09:33 PM

Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad
 
The real question is how many threads the game runs. If it has enough threads then it should scale. Does the game actually load an e6600 all the way up or not? There might already be enough CPU for his tests which means that once SLI support is added the game might shift from all GPU bound to a little more CPU bound.

agentkay 11-07-07 10:30 PM

Re: Crysis turns up nose at quad
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by J-Mag
Do we really know what these timedemos are doing? I've always thought that software rendering tests were worthless when you use your GPU to render in the real application...

Maybe an OS related thread is taking up the 3rd or 4th core. Would there be more OS stress if an application is using CPU/Mem vs a dedicated GPU render?

No we don't really know but it seems to be pre-recorded "actions" that are being played back at realtime and since a lot of phyics are involved it does put plenty of load on the CPU. Framerates are comparable to the actual demo framerate and they are affected by ingame settings and cfg settings.

I ran the CPU timedemo once at 1920x1080 and the CPU load on core1 was around 80-85% and core2 a little higher 85-90%. Then I reduced the resolution to 800x600 and this time both cores were very similar at about 90-95%.

I'm not exactly sure how expreview.com tested but since the tests were done at the same frequency it should reflect CPU efficiency and architecture incl. core count, at least thats the way I understood it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.