nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   How to setup inittab in redhat 9.0 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=10203)

Tommi 04-15-03 12:41 PM

How to setup inittab in redhat 9.0
 
Yo,

How to configure the inittab file so that when I boot the computer it wont start X but console mode only. This mode is called mode 3 if I am right. There is now mode 5 in the inittab and if I change all the number fives to number 3 nothing will happen. It starts X despite there is number 3 in my inittab. It even says in the boot that" runlever 3" but still it starts X...I dont get this? :-)

Please help.

remu 04-16-03 12:43 AM

rh 9 inittab
 
Hi, Tommi (ootsä suomalainen?)

I don't know how you've setup your RH 9, but my custom installed RH 9 boots nicely into runlevel 3 when I change the 5 to 3 in the following line in /etc/inittab.

Quote:

id:5:initdefault:
Here's a copy of my /etc/inittab:
  • #
    # inittab This file describes how the INIT process should set up
    # the system in a certain run-level.
    #
    # Author: Miquel van Smoorenburg, <miquels@drinkel.nl.mugnet.org>
    # Modified for RHS Linux by Marc Ewing and Donnie Barnes
    #

    # Default runlevel. The runlevels used by RHS are:
    # 0 - halt (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
    # 1 - Single user mode
    # 2 - Multiuser, without NFS (The same as 3, if you do not have networking)
    # 3 - Full multiuser mode
    # 4 - unused
    # 5 - X11
    # 6 - reboot (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
    #
    id:5:initdefault:

    # System initialization.
    si::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

    l0:0:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 0
    l1:1:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 1
    l2:2:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 2
    l3:3:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 3
    l4:4:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 4
    l5:5:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 5
    l6:6:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 6

    # Trap CTRL-ALT-DELETE
    ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t3 -r now

    # When our UPS tells us power has failed, assume we have a few minutes
    # of power left. Schedule a shutdown for 2 minutes from now.
    # This does, of course, assume you have powerd installed and your
    # UPS connected and working correctly.
    pf::powerfail:/sbin/shutdown -f -h +2 "Power Failure; System Shutting Down"

    # If power was restored before the shutdown kicked in, cancel it.
    pr:12345:powerokwait:/sbin/shutdown -c "Power Restored; Shutdown Cancelled"


    # Run gettys in standard runlevels
    1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
    2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
    3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
    4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
    5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
    6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6

    # Run xdm in runlevel 5
    x:5:respawn:/etc/X11/prefdm -nodaemon

Hopefully this helps you out!

Tommi 04-16-03 05:13 AM

Joo oon suomesta. Suomi roks!!! :-)

Well... I have tested precicely similar settings as you have without any results...strange. Maybe there are two inittab files in my system? I need to check. Maybe I have messed my inittabs with vi.

Thanks for reply!!

-Tommi

briansladecek 04-28-03 01:21 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Tommi
Joo oon suomesta. Suomi roks!!! :-)

Well... I have tested precicely similar settings as you have without any results...strange. Maybe there are two inittab files in my system? I need to check. Maybe I have messed my inittabs with vi.

Thanks for reply!!

-Tommi

Howdy,

If I understood your first post, it seems like you may have made *too many* changes to your inittab file. The *only* line you need to change is the one "Remu" posted to your reply, namely:

id:5:initdefault:

It sounds to me like you may have changed the last line where it starts XDM. You do not need to do this, and that's probably why X still starts even though you changed the "initdefault" line to 3 as well.

I would take a look at "Remu"'s inittab he posted and change everything back to the way he has it, and then, make the change to just that one line containing initdefault.

thanks,

Brian Sladecek

Tommi 04-28-03 10:18 AM

Yes, I know it now. Thanks for reply. :-)


-Tommi


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.