nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   SVideo works fine, Component gives no video at all (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=102252)

levander 11-13-07 11:00 AM

SVideo works fine, Component gives no video at all
 
1 Attachment(s)
EDIT: I'm deprecating this thread, please see http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...01#post1454801 for further information. Nothing gets solved in this thread. Don't read it, read the one linked to here.

I got TV Out working pretty quickly for S-Video. I've been working for days on Component, nothing. I'm trying to get my desktop setup so that there are two monitors working. One for a regular desktop, and another for television.

Actually, both monitors are the same physical monitor. It's just one Samsung Syncmaster 215TW that has a bunch of different inputs on it, including DVI, S-Video, and Component. I press a button on the monitor to cycle through them.

On the back of my video card, I've got a S-Video/HDTV port. There's this adapter that comes with the card that plugs into the card. Hanging out the other side of the adapter are ports for an S-Video cable and a Component cable.

I hook the S-Video cable into the adapter on the video card and into the monitor, I have this in xorg.conf as my Screen section for my monitor:

Code:

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Television Screen"
        Device          "Television Device"
        Monitor        "Television"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option          "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
        Option          "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
        SubSection      "Display"
                Depth          24
                Modes          "nvidia-auto-select"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

and it works fine.

To try to get component TV Out working, I change two lines in that Screen section:

Code:

        Option          "TVOutFormat" "COMPONENT"
        Option          "TVStandard" "HD480i"

I leave the rest of xorg.conf alone.

Then, I unplug the S-Video cable, and plug a component cable into the adapter on the back of the video card and into the monitor, restart gdm, login, and I get a fine display on the regular monitor, and nothing on the television, just a black screen.

I'm thinking the problem is that somehow, the video card just isn't being put into some kind of COMPONENT or HDTV mode, because none of the documented HD modes are listed in this part of Xorg.0.log:

Code:

(--) NVIDIA(1): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6200 at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(1):    NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0)
(--) NVIDIA(1):    Samsung SyncMaster (DFP-0)
(--) NVIDIA(1): NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0): 400.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(1): TV encoder: NVIDIA
(II) NVIDIA(1): TV modes supported by this encoder:
(II) NVIDIA(1):  1024x768; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-N, PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  800x600; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  720x576; Standards: PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N, PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  720x480; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M
(II) NVIDIA(1):  640x480; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  640x400; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  400x300; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  320x240; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  320x200; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-NC
(--) NVIDIA(1): Samsung SyncMaster (DFP-0): 155.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(1): Samsung SyncMaster (DFP-0): Internal Single Link TMDS
(--) NVIDIA(1): Samsung SyncMaster (DFP-0): Native FlatPanel Scaling is
(--) NVIDIA(1):    supported


Should I just be able to change S-Video to Component and NTSC-M to HD480i and get Component video working?

nvidia-bug-report.log for the COMPONENT configuration is attached.

v1rtu0s1ty 11-14-07 02:00 AM

Re: SVideo works fine, Component gives no video at all
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by levander
I got TV Out working pretty quickly for S-Video. I've been working for days on Component, nothing. I'm trying to get my desktop setup so that there are two monitors working. One for a regular desktop, and another for television.

Actually, both monitors are the same physical monitor. It's just one Samsung Syncmaster 215TW that has a bunch of different inputs on it, including DVI, S-Video, and Component. I press a button on the monitor to cycle through them.

On the back of my video card, I've got a S-Video/HDTV port. There's this adapter that comes with the card that plugs into the card. Hanging out the other side of the adapter are ports for an S-Video cable and a Component cable.

I hook the S-Video cable into the adapter on the video card and into the monitor, I have this in xorg.conf as my Screen section for my monitor:

Code:

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Television Screen"
        Device          "Television Device"
        Monitor        "Television"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option          "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
        Option          "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
        SubSection      "Display"
                Depth          24
                Modes          "nvidia-auto-select"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

and it works fine.

To try to get component TV Out working, I change two lines in that Screen section:

Code:

        Option          "TVOutFormat" "COMPONENT"
        Option          "TVStandard" "HD480i"

I leave the rest of xorg.conf alone.

Then, I unplug the S-Video cable, and plug a component cable into the adapter on the back of the video card and into the monitor, restart gdm, login, and I get a fine display on the regular monitor, and nothing on the television, just a black screen.

I'm thinking the problem is that somehow, the video card just isn't being put into some kind of COMPONENT or HDTV mode, because none of the documented HD modes are listed in this part of Xorg.0.log:

Code:

(--) NVIDIA(1): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6200 at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(1):    NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0)
(--) NVIDIA(1):    Samsung SyncMaster (DFP-0)
(--) NVIDIA(1): NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0): 400.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(1): TV encoder: NVIDIA
(II) NVIDIA(1): TV modes supported by this encoder:
(II) NVIDIA(1):  1024x768; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-N, PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  800x600; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  720x576; Standards: PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N, PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  720x480; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M
(II) NVIDIA(1):  640x480; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  640x400; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  400x300; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  320x240; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-NC
(II) NVIDIA(1):  320x200; Standards: NTSC-M, NTSC-J, PAL-M, PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N,
(II) NVIDIA(1):    PAL-NC
(--) NVIDIA(1): Samsung SyncMaster (DFP-0): 155.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(1): Samsung SyncMaster (DFP-0): Internal Single Link TMDS
(--) NVIDIA(1): Samsung SyncMaster (DFP-0): Native FlatPanel Scaling is
(--) NVIDIA(1):    supported


Should I just be able to change S-Video to Component and NTSC-M to HD480i and get Component video working?

nvidia-bug-report.log for the COMPONENT configuration is attached.

hi levander,

I think the word "COMPONENT" is forbidden here. It's because, I have a post similar to this post of yours 2 or 3 days ago but I did not get any response. :D

levander 11-16-07 12:46 AM

Re: SVideo works fine, Component gives no video at all
 
Seriously, nobody on this board can give me a little advice?

I'm still working on this thing, but I keep coming back to the part of Xorg.0.log I posted above. Why wouldn't any HD modes be listed in Xorg.0.log? Is this a raw interpretation of the television hardware that the nvidia driver has found in my graphics card? Could this information possibly be influenced by what's attached to the wires of the graphics card? Like, does it go to the monitor and detect that the monitor doesn't support any HD modes, so none are listed in Xorg.0.log? Is it possible that bad a Component cable is causing the nvidia driver to not detect any HD capabilities and so is not listing them?

That's where I'm stuck right now. Is that list of tv modes a raw dump of the capabilities the nvidia driver has found on my graphics card, or could that list be influenced by what is detected as hanging off wires attached to the video card?

I've started looking a little into EDID, and I think that's what I'm going to have to try and figure out next. Unless someone can tell me that that listing of television modes is not influenced by the monitor attached to the graphics card... Unfortunately for me, it's fairly important I get this setup working if it's possible to get it working.

philipl 11-16-07 01:34 AM

Re: SVideo works fine, Component gives no video at all
 
Leave out the "TVOutFormat" and make sure the resolution is 720x480. The TV encoder supports 800x600 and 1024x768 but HD480i implies 720x480.

levander 11-16-07 02:11 AM

Re: SVideo works fine, Component gives no video at all
 
Oh my god. Phil is a genius. That is the first progress I've made in at least several days.

I wasn't sure what you mean by, "make sure the resolution is 720x480", so I just left the Modes line in my Screen section to be "nvidia-auto-select".

I restarted gdm, logged-in, and wallah!! I've got desktops on both my DFP-0 and TV-0 screens. However, the video on the TV screen is black and white.

I suspect what is happening is S-Video format video is being sent out my component cable right now, because I am not forcing the Component format. But, this is a wild guess. I just say that because the image looks similar to when I had both S-Video and Component cables plugged into my graphics card and monitor. At that time, S-Video was all blurry and everything, but mostly looked good. Component was black and white just like it is now.

levander 11-16-07 02:13 AM

Re: SVideo works fine, Component gives no video at all
 
Oh yes, I forgot to mention. The Ubuntu Screen Resolution utility does say that my resolution is 800x600. But, I hit the info button on my monitor, and it says I'm running 720x480i @ 60 Hz.

philipl 11-16-07 02:43 AM

Re: SVideo works fine, Component gives no video at all
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by levander
Oh yes, I forgot to mention. The Ubuntu Screen Resolution utility does say that my resolution is 800x600. But, I hit the info button on my monitor, and it says I'm running 720x480i @ 60 Hz.

That's why your colours are messed up. You need to make sure your xorg.conf lists "720x480" as your only resolution.

levander 11-16-07 03:22 AM

Re: SVideo works fine, Component gives no video at all
 
No dice phil. Still black and white.

First attempt at new Screen section:

Code:

Section "Screen"
        Identifier        "Television Screen"
        Device                "Television Device"
        Monitor                "Television"
        DefaultDepth        24
#        Option                "TVOutFormat" "COMPONENT"
        Option                "TVStandard" "HD480i"
        SubSection        "Display"
                Depth                24
                Modes                "720x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

My 2nd attempt was adding a Modeline, and changing the Monitor and the Screen section:

Code:

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier        "Television"
        Modeline        "720x480_60.00"  26.72  720 736 808 896  480 481 484 497  -HSync +Vsync
#        HorizSync        30-50
#        VertRefresh        60
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier        "Television Screen"
        Device                "Television Device"
        Monitor                "Television"
        DefaultDepth        24
#        Option                "TVOutFormat" "COMPONENT"
        Option                "TVStandard" "HD480i"
        SubSection        "Display"
                Depth                24
                Modes                "720x480_60.00"
        EndSubSection
EndSection


levander 11-16-07 03:27 AM

Re: SVideo works fine, Component gives no video at all
 
Actually, it's only no dice because X still thinks it's desktop resolution is supposed to be 800x600. That's what the screen resolution is according to nvidia-settings and the Ubuntu Screen Resolution utility.

I'm going to research how to get the X desktop into 720x480.

The monitor info button does say 720x480i @ 60 Hz still.

But, I see what you're saying about the monitor displaying at one resolution, and the software displaying a different resolution on top of it could be causing my color problems.

I'm going to figure out how to get X into 720x480 resolution.

levander 11-16-07 04:23 AM

Re: SVideo works fine, Component gives no video at all
 
1 Attachment(s)
Well, I played around with "sudo nvidia --screen="Television Screen" --mode="720x480" and it looks like the first way I tried it above was right. You just put "720x480" in the Modes line of the Display Subsection of the Screen Section.

Here's what looks *to me* like the section relevant to me requesting 720x480 in Xorg.0.log:

Code:

(II) NVIDIA(1): --- Modes in ModePool for NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0) ---
(II) NVIDIA(1): "nvidia-auto-select" :  800 x  600 @  60.3 Hz  (from: NVIDIA Predefined)
(II) NVIDIA(1): --- End of ModePool for NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0): ---
(II) NVIDIA(1):
(II) NVIDIA(1): Assigned Display Device: TV-0
(II) NVIDIA(1): Requested modes:
(II) NVIDIA(1):    "720x480"
(WW) NVIDIA(1): No valid modes for "720x480"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(1):
(WW) NVIDIA(1): Unable to validate any modes; falling back to the default mode
(WW) NVIDIA(1):    "nvidia-auto-select".
(WW) NVIDIA(1):
(II) NVIDIA(1): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(1): MetaMode "nvidia-auto-select":
(II) NVIDIA(1):    Bounding Box: [0, 0, 800, 600]
(II) NVIDIA(1):    NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0): "nvidia-auto-select"
(II) NVIDIA(1):        Size          : 800 x 600
(II) NVIDIA(1):        Offset        : +0 +0
(II) NVIDIA(1):        Panning Domain: @ 800 x 600
(II) NVIDIA(1):        Position      : [0, 0, 800, 600]
(II) NVIDIA(1): Virtual screen size determined to be 800 x 600
(==) NVIDIA(1): DPI set to (75, 75); computed from built-in default

It looks *to me* like nvidia just has it hard-coded (either in hardware or software) that you can't do 720x480 with the NVIDIA TV Encoder...

Attached is the new nvidia-bug-report.log for the 720x480 mode.

philipl 11-16-07 12:05 PM

Re: SVideo works fine, Component gives no video at all
 
You need to add the modeline like you did, but you must name the modeline "720x480" and then it should be able to validate correctly.

levander 11-16-07 04:10 PM

Re: SVideo works fine, Component gives no video at all
 
1 Attachment(s)
Same thing. X thinks it's in 800x600. The monitor think's it's in 720x480i. Picture is in black and white.

Relevant parts of Xorg.conf:

Code:

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier        "Television" # currently, the S-Video In port on the SyncMaster 215TW
        Modeline        "720x4803"  26.72  720 736 808 896  480 481 484 497  -HSync +Vsync
#        HorizSync        30-50
#        VertRefresh        60
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier        "Television Screen"
        Device                "Television Device"
        Monitor                "Television"
        DefaultDepth        24
#        Option                "TVOutFormat" "COMPONENT"
        Option                "TVStandard" "HD480i"
        SubSection        "Display"
                Depth                24
                Modes                "720x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

That part of Xorg.0.log is identical:

Code:

(II) NVIDIA(1): --- Modes in ModePool for NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0) ---
(II) NVIDIA(1): "nvidia-auto-select" :  800 x  600 @  60.3 Hz  (from: NVIDIA Predefined)
(II) NVIDIA(1): --- End of ModePool for NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0): ---
(II) NVIDIA(1):
(II) NVIDIA(1): Assigned Display Device: TV-0
(II) NVIDIA(1): Requested modes:
(II) NVIDIA(1):    "720x480"
(WW) NVIDIA(1): No valid modes for "720x480"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(1):
(WW) NVIDIA(1): Unable to validate any modes; falling back to the default mode
(WW) NVIDIA(1):    "nvidia-auto-select".
(WW) NVIDIA(1):
(II) NVIDIA(1): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(1): MetaMode "nvidia-auto-select":
(II) NVIDIA(1):    Bounding Box: [0, 0, 800, 600]
(II) NVIDIA(1):    NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0): "nvidia-auto-select"
(II) NVIDIA(1):        Size          : 800 x 600
(II) NVIDIA(1):        Offset        : +0 +0
(II) NVIDIA(1):        Panning Domain: @ 800 x 600
(II) NVIDIA(1):        Position      : [0, 0, 800, 600]
(II) NVIDIA(1): Virtual screen size determined to be 800 x 600
(==) NVIDIA(1): DPI set to (75, 75); computed from built-in default

New nvidia-bug-report.log is attached.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.