nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Crysis (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Post your final config for retail crysis here! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=102372)

Gaco 11-14-07 04:40 PM

Post your final config for retail crysis here!
 
Crysis is being released tomorrow for us non-lucky mortal ones, so I'm gonna spend some time tomorrow playing around with the configs using tweakguides.com is my basis. But lets all share our most beloved config atm so we can all have the best possible Crysis config tweak ready for release!

I wish I could start out, but it's not final yet so I can't! :o

Fire away! :D

EDIT: My personal final retail tweak is up, lookie here: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...page=4&post#60

loafer87gt 11-14-07 04:42 PM

Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!
 
i tried a bunch of different tweaks on my system below, but found that the default medium settings give the best experience. At my monitors native res of 1920x1200, high is borderline unplayable when there is a lot going on onscreen, and very high is reserved for next gen hardware. I played the game until I reached the winter levels, and then decided to shelve the game until I have some better hardware to play it on. Unlike what others have said, I have found the retail runs quite a bit slower than the demo in the action heavy later levels. With all the other great games like COD4 and The Witcher, which run great on todays hardware, I thought there is little point trying to run a game in which my system apparently barely meets the requirements. If you have a beefy enough system and am running it at low resolution, I'm sure the game is a real visual treat, however.

mortster 11-14-07 05:13 PM

Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!
 
My rig:

E6420@3.2Ghz
BFG 8800GTX OC
2 GB DDR2-800
Dell 2405fpw
Windows XP

Ok so I decided that to run my native resolution, 1920x1200, I would need to sacrifice some settings from HIGH, so I decided instead to accept some interpolation by going down to 1680x1050 and still allowing the Dell to scale, rather than 1:1.

This is with 0xAA and all defaults with the 169.09 driver.

I set all ingame options to HIGH and then used the following system.cfg file located in the \program files\crysis directory.

con_restricted=0
r_displayinfo=0
r_motionblur=0
r_sunshafts=1
r_useedgeaa=0

;these vars turn on color grading, which gives the very high look
q_renderer=3
r_colorgrading=1

; water very high override
r_WaterRefractions=1
r_WaterReflections=1
r_WaterUpdateFactor=0.05
e_water_tesselation_amount=10
e_water_tesselation_swath_width=10
r_WaterUpdateDistance=0.2
r_WaterCaustics=1
r_WaterReflectionsQuality=4
e_water_ocean_fft=1
q_ShaderWater=2
r_WaterReflectionsMinVisiblePixelsUpdate=0.05


This gives me the full very high water effects which I love, and then the color grading extra high effect plus sunshafts.

I turn edge AA off as I find using it combined with the interpolation/scaling of the dell makes things too blurry. This gives me back only about 2fps.

I turn off motion blur as it gives me back about 5-8fps.

This combined gives me an average framerate of 35fps, with a minimum of 24fps (measure using GPU benchmark test)

It's playable, but I would love to get an average framerate of 45 or more.

Mr_LoL 11-14-07 05:59 PM

Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!
 
This is the one ill be using at the bottom of that post. Posted some comparison shots as well

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...postcount=2957

wazandy 11-14-07 06:01 PM

Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!
 
Hi guys,

I used the recent XP config tweak for the single player demo, and it definitely improved my performance, then again - my maximum resolution is 1680.

My rig:

Q6600
4 gig DDR2
Nvidia SLI motherboard
8800 ULTRA (factory o/c)

Can someone re-post that XP tweak to bring very high (and certain DX10 effects) in the XP version of the config file? Thanks...

methimpikehoses 11-14-07 06:03 PM

Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!
 
In my sig.

I'm getting 23-30FPS at 1920x1200, high settings, post-processing and shaders medium. A little clunky, but playable.

Sowk 11-14-07 06:09 PM

Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mortster

;these vars turn on color grading, which gives the very high look
q_renderer=3
r_colorgrading=1

So this is what get rid of the tint of the normal high mode, and make the picture more life like in color correct.

If so great!

example
I took screenshots of just HIGH in-game settings and then using the ULTRA HIGH settings via an autoexec file, and the colors where way better, and with better lighting.

mortster 11-14-07 06:13 PM

Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sowk
So this is what get rid of the tint of the normal high mode, and make the picture more life like in color correct.

If so great!

example
I took screenshots of just HIGH in-game settings and then using the ULTRA HIGH settings via an autoexec file, and the colors where way better, and with better lighting.

Yes! :)

agentkay 11-14-07 06:13 PM

Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr_LoL
This is the one ill be using at the bottom of that post. Posted some comparison shots as well

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...postcount=2957

Wow, nice one. I think I will be using it as well! Thanks for sharing!

Bearclaw 11-14-07 06:15 PM

Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!
 
My rig:

AMD Athlon 64 3200+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2GB Ultra RAM
Evga 7600 GT KO

I am going to kick this games ass.

D!Z 11-14-07 06:18 PM

Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by methimpikehoses
In my sig.

I'm getting 23-30FPS at 1920x1200, high settings, post-processing and shaders medium. A little clunky, but playable.


Thats what i have mine at, shaders on med makes it run alot better, high takes a big performance hit.

|JuiceZ| 11-14-07 06:42 PM

Re: Post your final config for retail crysis here!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr_LoL
This is the one ill be using at the bottom of that post. Posted some comparison shots as well

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...postcount=2957

This is a nice config file, thanks for the link man! :cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.