nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Crysis (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=102401)

six_storm 11-14-07 10:50 PM

Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance
 
Hello all. Just wanted to let you guys know that I'm doing a review of the Inno3D 8800GT right now. Now that we have the final release of Crysis in our hands, I wanted to incorporate the performance of Crysis with this new card in both XP and Vista.

I don't want this to start a flame war, but here are some quick results after playing all afternoon with equal time spent in both OS's. DX9 is tested in both OS's.

Vista:
All High Settings
169.09 BETA Drivers
Specs Below
1680x1050

AVG FPS: 20FPS

XP:
All High Settings
169.09 BETA Drivers
Specs Below
1680x1050

AVG FPS: 36FPS

What gives? I've really had to set the Vista settings down to medium and it still was choppy and laggy, hence the low FPS. In XP, the game boots up ultra fast and I get no lags or hiccups with 36FPS.

I will have an entire page devoted to Crysis performance since it is the hottest PC title this year. It will be way more in depth but I just wanted to share with you my results from this afternoon.

Please keep things civil, I just wanted to bring this to everyone's attention.

avirox 11-14-07 10:56 PM

Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance
 
these are done using the game's gpu benchmark?

agentkay 11-14-07 11:08 PM

Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance
 
Vista 32 or 64? Make sure the driver is set to "single display performance mode", and that vsync is off. Apparently there is a bug these two things in Vista and/or 64-bit exe.

methimpikehoses 11-14-07 11:08 PM

Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance
 
:flame:

(sofahide)

(throwpc)

Lazaredz 11-14-07 11:11 PM

Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance
 
[H] had numbers that showed no diff between the different OSes as long as you stuck with DX9.

nekrosoft13 11-14-07 11:16 PM

Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by agentkay
Vista 32 or 64? Make sure the driver is set to "single display performance mode", and that vsync is off. Apparently there is a bug these two things in Vista and/or 64-bit exe.

does "single display performance mode" actually help? last time i changed that option was in XP with 7800GT, it caused a huge performance drop back then.

conroejoe 11-14-07 11:26 PM

Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by agentkay
Vista 32 or 64? Make sure the driver is set to "single display performance mode", and that vsync is off. Apparently there is a bug these two things in Vista and/or 64-bit exe.


I thought 169.04 fixed that. These made x64 version just come up to a black screen, had nothing to do with performance.

six_storm 11-14-07 11:32 PM

Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance
 
32-bit. I dunno why Vista is dropping my framerate like it is but I'm going to stick with XP for Crysis for right now. As far as tweaks go, I'm just trying to get the feel for what's best straight out of the box. I will try to look into some tweaks just to see if they improve anything. I still say that hardware isn't anywhere near caught up.

conroejoe 11-14-07 11:34 PM

Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance
 
I got very similar results to yours when i benched Vista 32 VS XP. I, of course, decided to play through it in XP.

six_storm 11-14-07 11:38 PM

Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by avirox
these are done using the game's gpu benchmark?

This is just strictly gameplay in every level up to Alpha Phase One.

agentkay 11-15-07 12:05 AM

Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by six_storm
32-bit. I dunno why Vista is dropping my framerate like it is but I'm going to stick with XP for Crysis for right now. As far as tweaks go, I'm just trying to get the feel for what's best straight out of the box. I will try to look into some tweaks just to see if they improve anything. I still say that hardware isn't anywhere near caught up.

Strange, I know I don't have retail yet, but I've got very similar framerates in XP and Vista with the demo (GPU benchmark) with both DX9 and DX10 and all settings on HIGH. The only exception was DX10-64bit, that one dropped the average by 5frames (9 out of 10 runs) but one time it was actually just as fast as DX10-32bit/DX9-XP. I don't know what happened in that one run. :confused:

Anyway, I thought I should pass on the info even if it's not really helpful since I don't have the retail game.

JasonPC 11-15-07 12:07 AM

Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance
 
Ok I really think that 2 GB is just not enough ram for Crysis in Vista. I had some problems with framerate too but I found something that smooths it out a lot and makes it just like XP really. Install Stardock's TweakVista and under services select "I want to save as much memory as possible." Make sure just about all other programs are closed and run Crysis and see if it helps. It helped for me. I'm thinking about getting 4 GB to help it out. I am seeing ram usage going to 100% and page file starting to get used, which is obviously what makes the stutters for me.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.