nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Crysis (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Crysis & PC Shutdown Problem (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=102459)

wrathofgod 11-15-07 06:06 PM

Crysis & PC Shutdown Problem
 
I've gotten to the part where the gravity shuts off inside the alien craft. At the point where I try to go through the broken grate, my PC immediately shuts down. It happens repeatedly at the EXACT same point in the game. I played the game for hours on end yesterday so I know it's not a PC stability problem.

I've tried defragmenting the hard drive. As I said, it happens at the exact same point every time.

I would like to avoid reinstalling the game if possible and thanks in advance for any help.

SH64 11-15-07 06:25 PM

Re: Crysis & PC Shutdown Problem
 
system specs ? (including PSU) & game settings.

wrathofgod 11-15-07 06:43 PM

Re: Crysis & PC Shutdown Problem
 
Sorry. Should have thought of that even though I don't think it's PC problem because it happens at the exact same point in the game. Here they are.

Windows XP Pro
DFI LP NF4 SLI-DR
AMD 64 4200+ x2 @ 3.04 ghz w/ V1 (CL-P0401) Heatsink
EVGA 8800 GTX w/ Thermalright HR-03 Plus Cooler with 92 mm (54 CFM) fan
Creative X-Fi (Fatality)
2 gb Gskill memory
WD 36 gb Raptor
WD 300 gb SATA drive
Antec True Power 2.0; 500 watt PS

Temps are:
CPU Full Load: 42-45 c
GPU: 45-54 c

All in-game settings on high except postprocessing and shadows (both at medium) and 1680x1050. Also running a modified autoexec.cfg.

SH64 11-15-07 07:11 PM

Re: Crysis & PC Shutdown Problem
 
From past experiance , PC shutdowns are usually power related thats why i asked.
its a bit strange that it shutdowns at a certain point yeah.
try lowering your game settings/res .. underclocking your GPU & CPU .. see if this changes anything.

wrathofgod 11-15-07 07:39 PM

Re: Crysis & PC Shutdown Problem
 
Wow...this is just friggin' weird. I've never had a game shutdown a PC before (like this anyway). I've clocked down CPU, changed video drivers, defragmented and clocked down GPU and it still does it at the EXACT SAME POINT in the game.

I'm thinking that part of the game is in a bad spot on the hard drive? Hmm...

SH64 11-15-07 07:43 PM

Re: Crysis & PC Shutdown Problem
 
Bad cluster ? or perhaps a result of a corrupted savegame ?

wrathofgod 11-15-07 07:49 PM

Re: Crysis & PC Shutdown Problem
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SH64
r perhaps a result of a corrupted savegame ?

I tried to load a previous saved game and it still does it at the exact same point in the game. Good call though.

I'm thinking your right about the bad cluster on the hard drive.

sigh...going to uninstall and reinstall the game I guess. :thumbdwn: :(

GitDat 11-15-07 09:54 PM

Re: Crysis & PC Shutdown Problem
 
I had this exact same problem. Crysis pushed my video card so hard that my old PSU (OCZ 600w) couldn't supply enough juice during the more intense graphical displays and also would shut my entire PC off like a light switch. I replaced it with the 750w PSU in my sig and all is right with the world again :afro:

wrathofgod 11-15-07 11:38 PM

Re: Crysis & PC Shutdown Problem
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by GitDat
I had this exact same problem. Crysis pushed my video card so hard that my old PSU (OCZ 600w) couldn't supply enough juice during the more intense graphical displays and also would shut my entire PC off like a light switch. I replaced it with the 750w PSU in my sig and all is right with the world again :afro:

Thanks for the info. Weird that it doesn't happen anywhere else in the game though. That doesn't mean that what you said couldn't be the problem. Maybe I'll snag a new PSU to see if that helps. I need a new one anyway because I plan on SLI very soon. :D

I've already re-installed the game and started over, so we'll see what happens this time around first.:headexplode:

CaptNKILL 11-15-07 11:45 PM

Re: Crysis & PC Shutdown Problem
 
You could have probably just kept your saves, reinstalled, and then reused your old save files. :o

wrathofgod 11-15-07 11:49 PM

Re: Crysis & PC Shutdown Problem
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
You could have probably just kept your saves, reinstalled, and then reused your old save files. :o

Yeah, but I didn't want to get to that same point in the game and have it do the same thing again because of a possible corrupt save-game....heh. So, I didn't take the chance.

I would/will be a bit p*ssed...lol. :headexplode:

PTK1982 11-16-07 03:37 AM

Re: Crysis & PC Shutdown Problem
 
I was having same kind of problem in windows xp (i wanted to play the witcher). Problem was caused by X-FI when i installed X-Fi driver and restarted my pc would just shutdown after reboot (and every time). Only thing that helped was install VISTA drivers for xp (but it still couple times shutdown when playing the witcher) but with xp driver i even can't get pc to log on windows:thumbdwn: (appereantly something to do with IRQ sharing). So try with X-FI uninstalled will it do the samething or try install vista drivers.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.