nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Crysis (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Make DX9 look like DX10??? (retail version) (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=102667)

Madpistol 11-18-07 08:57 PM

Make DX9 look like DX10??? (retail version)
 
I'm perplexed. Crytek has done something so the settings that were in the demo are no longer compatible with the settings in the retail version of Crysis.

Does anyone know how to get back all the beautiful settings that we were seeing in the demo? I miss my displacement mapped rocks. :(

agentkay 11-18-07 09:07 PM

Re: Make DX9 look like DX10??? (retail version)
 
You mean POM? Add this line to your system.cfg and it should work in DX9:

r_UsePom=1

Madpistol 11-18-07 09:21 PM

Re: Make DX9 look like DX10??? (retail version)
 
where do I find that file? I'm so lost here. :(

agentkay 11-18-07 09:24 PM

Re: Make DX9 look like DX10??? (retail version)
 
Sorry, you need to create a text file and rename it to system.cfg in the x:\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis folder and add that line. I think shaders have to be on "high" for it to work though.

Madpistol 11-18-07 09:37 PM

Re: Make DX9 look like DX10??? (retail version)
 
would this need to be in the x:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\Game\Config\CVarGroups ? I've already implanted a tweak to those files, and it doesn't seem to do much.

I'll try what you said and report back.

Crow_Nest 11-18-07 09:44 PM

Re: Make DX9 look like DX10??? (retail version)
 
More info on how to run DX10 effects in DX9 here

http://www.tweakguides.com/Crysis_13.html

Madpistol 11-18-07 09:53 PM

Re: Make DX9 look like DX10??? (retail version)
 
1 Attachment(s)
Ok, it turns out I didn't need that "system.cfg" file. I just needed the tweaked CVar settings. But thanks for your help agentkey. :o

The file that I downloaded is attached below.

Just replace all the files in your "x:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\Game\Config\CVarGroups" directory. This gave me all the high detail settings such as Paralax Occulsion Mapping, Sun Rays, and high detail water.

Sorry. I'm sure this has been posted before.

Here's the original download link:

http://www.ngohq.com/news/12492-crys...ings-hack.html

I didn't think the Demo settings were compatible with the retail version, but apparently they are. Thanks for your help guys.




Another thought. Is there a way we can change the title and sticky this so that a new topic isn't started every time a person wants to make their DX9 machine "Uber high"? :D

agentkay 11-18-07 09:58 PM

Re: Make DX9 look like DX10??? (retail version)
 
Good job Madpistol. :thumbsup: Yes there are basically three ways to add the "DX10" effects into DX9, system.cfg, autoexec.cfg or the modification of the files in the "CVarGroups" folder.

Madpistol 11-18-07 10:01 PM

Re: Make DX9 look like DX10??? (retail version)
 
Cool. That's a nifty tid bit of information agent. :thumbsup:

BTW, nice system you've got there. ;)

Digital_Trans 11-19-07 04:18 AM

Re: Make DX9 look like DX10??? (retail version)
 
Okay, all I did was the following... I copied and pasted all the files from the Very High Tweak.zip files into the CVarGroups folder and rebooted.
Is that all I need to do in order to get DirectX 10 effects in Windows XP Pro x64 edition? or do I need to make adjustments inside the game to in order for these results to take effect?
please advise...thanks! :)

MMhardKy 11-19-07 08:44 AM

Re: Make DX9 look like DX10??? (retail version)
 
Can I can get the motion blur on objects (like hands, falling trees etc.)with this setting also? That is my most favourite effect.

Madpistol 11-19-07 10:10 AM

Re: Make DX9 look like DX10??? (retail version)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Digital_Trans
Okay, all I did was the following... I copied and pasted all the files from the Very High Tweak.zip files into the CVarGroups folder and rebooted.
Is that all I need to do in order to get DirectX 10 effects in Windows XP Pro x64 edition? or do I need to make adjustments inside the game to in order for these results to take effect?
please advise...thanks! :)

You shouldn't even have to reboot. Just place the settings in the folder, start up the game, and they should be there. An easy way to tell is to go up to the beach where there are some rocks on the ground. If the rocks are "popping up" out of the ground, then the effects are working properly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.