nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   3.40 GHz Causing issues? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=103186)

gulizard 11-26-07 09:48 PM

3.40 GHz Causing issues?
 
I recently had an urge to O/C my system by another 400MHz. I had to bump the voltage up of the CPU, which actually puts my idle temps now at 42C. I've ran Orthos and its pretty darn stable. However when I am playing or typing sometimes my keys appear to stick. If I bump it back down to stock this doesn't happen. I mean they don't physically stick, but the pc acts like thats whats happening.

Any suggestions on this? I was considering bumping the voltage up a bit more, not much just one up. I have no clue why its doing this though. It almost acts like it can't handle the amount of input I am using my keyboard for. I notice it happens most in BF2 when I am flying the helicopter.. The helicopter will literally turn all the way around as if I were holding my D key down which would make the helicopter turn right. It does happen sometimes typing, but its not as noticeable as in BF2 or other games. It defiantly has to be related to my O/C as I've tried other keyboards with no avail.

Any suggestions would be great.

Eliminator 11-26-07 10:18 PM

Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?
 
well my only suggestion is try bumping up the voltage... if that fails then pcie frequency at 110mhz

gulizard 11-27-07 12:23 AM

Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?
 
Does 1.38V sound reasonable for 3.4GHz?

One more thing could increasing the PCI-E clock lower the amount of voltage I need to give the CPU to run at this speed, or does it just give it extra stability?

andy_nv 11-27-07 12:49 PM

Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?
 
I bumped the voltage all the way up to 1.5V when I had an E6600 @3.6GHz. True, it showed as ~1.42V in Windows and went down to 1.36-1.38V under load. For 3.4, I think it was at least 1.4V.
You could also try changing fsb termination and northbridge voltage.

DiscipleDOC 11-27-07 12:55 PM

Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by andy_nv
I bumped the voltage all the way up to 1.5V when I had an E6600 @3.6GHz. True, it showed as ~1.42V in Windows and went down to 1.36-1.38V under load. For 3.4, I think it was at least 1.4V.
You could also try changing fsb termination and northbridge voltage.

My voltage is 1.5v as well, and my cpu is running a little warmer than usual....

gulizard 11-27-07 12:59 PM

Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by andy_nv
I bumped the voltage all the way up to 1.5V when I had an E6600 @3.6GHz. True, it showed as ~1.42V in Windows and went down to 1.36-1.38V under load. For 3.4, I think it was at least 1.4V.
You could also try changing fsb termination and northbridge voltage.

Yeah mine is at 1.4 now... A bit above it, but like you said in Windows under most programs, and even in the bios it shows at 1.38V

Blacklash 12-02-07 11:25 AM

Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?
 
I need 1.36v for 3.2 and can prime 3.6GHz on 1.46v. 1.5v for 3.4GHz or lower seems kinda high. Sometimes folks believe they have stability problems with their CPU when it is often the memory. They run it at high speed with tight timings and not enough voltage to keep it stable.

You fellows with high voltage on the CPU @ a lower clock might want to try setting your ram and CPU to a 1:1 ratio with average timings like 5-5-5-15 then see if your CPU can hold it's current clock with less voltage. If you really want to remove ram from the equation while you experiment go even more sloppy, like 5-6-6-18.

I always find my max CPU OC on a 1:1 ratio and sloppy timings then tighten up as much as I can while maintaining stability.

I don't need to increase any motherboard voltage on P35 other than vcore until I hit a 423 FSB on a 9x multi with Quad core, then I need to increase CPU VTT to keep it stable. That one is crucial for me @ 3.8.

Dazz 12-02-07 11:48 AM

Re: 3.40 GHz Causing issues?
 
My E4300 1.8GHz can do 3.4+GHz but needs 1.65v the CPU temps are fine but when the Power regualtors hit 98C, the PC crashes. I wonder if 8 phase boards will have any luck.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.