nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Overclocking my Q6600! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=104309)

ATOJAR 12-14-07 05:44 PM

Overclocking my Q6600!
 
So i set my self a max voltage of 1.4v ... i started the FSB of at 400 this resulted in my CPU running at 3.6GHz ... running orthos for like 2 minz and the system re-booted, i figured this was due to lack of voltages so i knocked the FSB down by five .... so the FSB is at 395FSB .... the cpu is now running at 3.555GHz according to orthos ... just by knocking the FSB how by five this seems to have made the overclock stable! the memory is on 1.9v with a 1:1 ratio and running at 790MHz .... as i type the tests have been runnng for just over 20 minz and all is fine, im running both Orthos Small FFT's stress test & Intel Thermal Analysis Tool @ 100% work load at the same time! .... the highest temp i have seen so far is 65c .... although the cpu usually sits around 63c while running both these tests! .... would you say these load temps where ok\safe?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v355/ATOJAR/temps.jpg

methimpikehoses 12-14-07 05:52 PM

Re: Overclocking my Q6600!
 
I don't like load temps above 60C, but as long as they don't get any higher I would imagine you're OK... if stable.

ATOJAR 12-14-07 06:16 PM

Re: Overclocking my Q6600!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by methimpikehoses
I don't like load temps above 60C

Yeah same here but i figured that becasue im running both tests at the same time its hotter than usual ... if i run orthos alone it never passes 55c ... if i run TAT alone it never passes 60c.

mythy 12-14-07 06:22 PM

Re: Overclocking my Q6600!
 
look at tat core 2 and 3 there ice cold which means there not being used much. Task manager confirms this. you need to run OCCT instead and check your temps with Coretemp ;)

http://www.ocbase.com/perestroika_en/index.php?Download
http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/

please report back!


oh and methimpikehoses! Shame on you for not noticing!!!!! :D

ATOJAR 12-14-07 06:28 PM

Re: Overclocking my Q6600!
 
I know i sound a complete noob here but how do i use this OCCT? :o

mythy 12-14-07 06:29 PM

Re: Overclocking my Q6600!
 
no worries hit the green button that says on :p It waits 1 min then runs if it stops your in trouble... It will FULLY load all 4 cores. If you go into options you can set it to just stress the cpu but the temps will rise 2-4 C

ATOJAR 12-14-07 06:33 PM

Re: Overclocking my Q6600!
 
OMG! .... that just kicked my pc right in the nuts!

after about 2 secs i got a BSOD and the system re-booted! :D ... good stuff.

mythy 12-14-07 06:39 PM

Re: Overclocking my Q6600!
 
lol usually a 8 hour run means your stable :p

ATOJAR 12-14-07 06:43 PM

Re: Overclocking my Q6600!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mythy
lol usually a 8 hour run means your stable :p

Thanks for showing me this dude, nice program! :D ... ill have a mess around and see what i can get to.

ATOJAR 12-14-07 06:47 PM

Re: Overclocking my Q6600!
 
I dont really want to push my vcore past 1.4v so i guess i will just keep knocking the FSB down by 5 until OCCT finds it stable!

mythy 12-14-07 06:52 PM

Re: Overclocking my Q6600!
 
thing is Vcore in bios of 1.4 is no where near 1.4 under full load heck might be 1.3 by the time Vdrop is done with it

for me 3.4GHz Bios 1.41 Idle 1.37 load (1.32-1.33)


Try 1.4 in bios and 378fsb and work your way up

$n][pErMan 12-14-07 07:01 PM

Re: Overclocking my Q6600!
 
You could also just run two instances of Orthos and set the Affinity of 1 instance to CPU 0 and 1 and set the other instance to CPU 2 and 3 :) Thats what I did to max all my cores out. I settled for 3.15Ghz eventually simply because I can run that at a very low voltage and when its not enough I am sure I have plenty of OC room left to go :) Also, if your temps are that high only maxing 2 of 4 cores... once you max all 4 cores your CPU is going to blow up... lol. Id take it back quite a bit and work your way back up! ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.