nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   RH 9.0 and LAN driver (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=10465)

ricosman 04-20-03 12:32 AM

RH 9.0 and LAN driver

I'm very new to the linux world. I just built a box with the intent of learning linux (old windows person). I am using an Asus A7N266-VM motherboard and all of it's on-board peripherals (Audio, LAN, and Video). All are using the GeForce Chipset and MCP-D integrated multimedia chipset. I loaded Redhat 9.0 without a problem, and it loaded the drivers for the soundcard and the videocard great. I can't, however, get the LAN to work. The driver is not listed as installed. I'm on the Nvidia website, but they only list drivers for RH 8.0. Will RH 8.0 drivers work with RH 9.0 for lan? Also, how can I install them?

Thanks!!

Rico

AranC23 04-23-03 02:45 PM

The release notes explain all...

IIRC, the release notes or readme discuss the nvnet driver installation pretty thouroughly... have you followed the instructions found in that document? It discusses changes to your modules.conf file if nothing else...

davecs 04-24-03 06:13 PM

I am using Mandrake 9.1 with the same motherboard. I got the video driver *.run file to load at the second attempt (ie re-installing Mandy from scratch) but for the life of me I cannot get nvnet to work. There is a line in my modules.conf file which says:

alias eth0 nvnet

but when I start a terminal as root and type 'alias<enter>' none of the aliases defined in modules.conf are reported.

Also I am getting horizontal distortion on my monitor (Xiod 17" LCD, made by Samsung, Serial IM17RU). This did not happen when I used a PC-Chips motherboard.

Could the problem be that modules.conf is not being called? If so how would I fix it?

DAVE

AranC23 04-25-03 10:10 AM

The alias shell command reports shell aliases, it is totally unrelated to the modules.conf file.