nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQual? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=104827)

3DBrad 12-21-07 10:40 PM

What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQual?
 
So I have seen people use different settings, but what's the "official" setting in the driver control panel?

Some drivers change the quality/high quality as it seems, so should we always run on "performance" or what?
:)

Zapablast05 12-23-07 12:17 AM

Re: What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQu
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Spoudazo
So I have seen people use different settings, but what's the "official" setting in the driver control panel?

Some drivers change the quality/high quality as it seems, so should we always run on "performance" or what?
:)

Application controlled is the default. That's why 3DMark has its own graphic settings. Just turn Vsync off in the control panel. The default resolution is 1280x1024, AA is off, and AF is optimal. If change any AA or AF settings in the NV control panel, and then change the AA and AF settings in 3DMark06, your performance will drop. That's why I always kept getting like 4k-5k 3DMarks.

3DBrad 12-23-07 12:23 PM

Re: What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQual?
 
Well, High Quality, Quality, and Performance isn't application controlled and varies from driver to driver. :)

Zapablast05 12-23-07 04:07 PM

Re: What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQu
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Spoudazo
Well, High Quality, Quality, and Performance isn't application controlled and varies from driver to driver. :)

Even if you put it at one of those settings, you can set everything else to application controlled and the quality setting option will be overridden.

HeavyH20 12-24-07 12:40 AM

Re: What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQu
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zapablast05
Even if you put it at one of those settings, you can set everything else to application controlled and the quality setting option will be overridden.

No, not really. It changes things slightly, like LOD. And, this setting, unlike AF, AA or like is not changed by the application. Besides, it gains you little to change it with modern video cards. But, if you are looking to edge someone or break a barrier, like 15K, it can help eek out the last couple hundred points.

mythy 12-27-07 07:06 PM

Re: What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQu
 
What he said ;)

andy_nv 12-27-07 08:34 PM

Re: What are the "official" driver settings for 3dmark06? Performance, Quality,HighQu
 
Just for the sake of it, it's usually "Quality", can't remember the last time when it was set otherwise.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.