nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Crysis (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   More RAM = Higher Min.Framrate ? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=106407)

SH64 01-17-08 01:18 PM

More RAM = Higher Min.Framrate ?
 
Ok i've got panicked when i saw that Assassain's Creed require 3GB of RAM so i quickly went out & bought 2 extra gigs & added them to my basic 2GB RAM on my system.


ok ok j/k :D i already had the 2GB kit for sometime & wanted to install them today after applying the 1.1 patch.
since i'm running a 32-bit OS only 3.25 is readable.
anyways now when running the CPU test at exact same settings my minimum framerate went from 17fps (2GB) to 24fps (3.25GB)!! is this possible as a result of the added RAM ?!
as for stuttering i can't tell if it was any less than 2GB. it could be somewhat smoother but i hardly can tell.

jeffmd 01-17-08 01:52 PM

Re: More RAM = Higher Min.Framrate ?
 
The far majority of severe drops in a game is due to needing to stop all action to load data from the HD that it cannot complete the next frame without. So yea if more ram allows that data to be loaded at from the start of the map, or makes it less likely to be swapped out of ram.. then you wont see as many drops.

Severian126 01-17-08 06:47 PM

Re: More RAM = Higher Min.Framrate ?
 
My version of Vista reads only 2.25 of the 4 gigs I have. :(

SH64 01-18-08 08:27 AM

Re: More RAM = Higher Min.Framrate ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Severian126
My version of Vista reads only 2.25 of the 4 gigs I have. :(

I think it depends on the mobo.
My XP reads 3.25GB , Vista reads 3.3GB.

Dragunov 01-18-08 08:33 AM

Re: More RAM = Higher Min.Framrate ?
 
It also depends how much RAM ur VGA card and soundcard has

amk21 01-18-08 08:37 AM

Re: More RAM = Higher Min.Framrate ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dragunov
It also depends how much RAM ur VGA card and soundcard has

Bah soundcard ram, doesn't improve performance or makes mi boms n explsions sound better.... I'm happy with my x-fi extreme gamer

Dreamingawake 01-18-08 08:43 AM

Re: More RAM = Higher Min.Framrate ?
 
Sorry this is a little off topic, but the only thing I've found the ram
on my sound card useful for is audio recording.

*magic* 01-18-08 12:35 PM

Re: More RAM = Higher Min.Framrate ?
 
I ve heard you can load the entire textures into your ram memory with these commands :

r_texturesstreaming=0
e_precache_level=1

should make the game smoother

jeffmd 01-18-08 02:08 PM

Re: More RAM = Higher Min.Framrate ?
 
The only reason I can see memory being used for on a sound card is maybe instrument samples for MIDI playback.

Monolyth 01-18-08 02:33 PM

Re: More RAM = Higher Min.Framrate ?
 
It reserves memory spaces for devices no matter what u try to do. When I was SLI it was @ 2.25GB because of the 2 cards + my X-Fi.

To fix that you need a 64-bit OS and a mobo that supports memory remapping (most modern mobo's do).

SH64 01-18-08 02:36 PM

Re: More RAM = Higher Min.Framrate ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by *magic*
I ve heard you can load the entire textures into your ram memory with these commands :

r_texturesstreaming=0
e_precache_level=1

should make the game smoother

Thanks will try those.

conroejoe 01-18-08 04:40 PM

Re: More RAM = Higher Min.Framrate ?
 
There was an article recently stating that on Vista 2GB is like 1GB in XP, 4GB is like 2GB and 8GB is like 4GB. Running Vista the more = teh better.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.