nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Why is my FSB multiplier fluctuating after an overclock? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=106681)

ryan29121 01-22-08 03:01 PM

Why is my FSB multiplier fluctuating after an overclock?
 
Alright I need a little help on my overclocking job. Ill tell you everything I did. First I started upping my FSB until my CPU got close to 2.9GHz then I upped my voltage to 1.4125 then increased my FSB until it reached 3.2GHz. I didnt touch the multiplier, so it is default at 9x. My computer booted up perfectly and I have been running games for about two hours perfectly. The help that I need is when I start cpuz my multiplier is fluctuating. Its fluctuating between 6x and 9x which is changing my overall clock speed. What is causing this? How can I fix this? Thanks in advance for your help.

http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a79...6/computer.jpg
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a79...tled-1copy.jpg
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a79...66/second2.jpg

lduguay 01-22-08 03:18 PM

Re: Why is my FSB multiplier fluctuating after an overclock?
 
Have you disabled all the CPU options in the BIOS?
EIST, C1E and TM2?

ryan29121 01-22-08 06:09 PM

Re: Why is my FSB multiplier fluctuating after an overclock?
 
Im sorry but im kinda new at overclocking. What do those abbreviations mean?

bacon12 01-22-08 06:36 PM

Re: Why is my FSB multiplier fluctuating after an overclock?
 
All your overclock are belong to us.

Feyy 01-22-08 08:07 PM

Re: Why is my FSB multiplier fluctuating after an overclock?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ryan29121
Im sorry but im kinda new at overclocking. What do those abbreviations mean?

EIST is intel speedstep technology which downclocks your pc when its not running anythind demanding and then goes back to normal speed if you do.

Disable it in the bios.

Madpistol 01-22-08 08:25 PM

Re: Why is my FSB multiplier fluctuating after an overclock?
 
speedstep is what you're looking for in the bios (I believe.) Disable that and you should be good to go. ;)

Uberpwnage 01-22-08 11:11 PM

Re: Why is my FSB multiplier fluctuating after an overclock?
 
I had this problem on my board the last time I flashed the BIOS even when speedstep was disabled. However, when I selected "High Performance" in Vista's power options, it went away. I haven't been on XP much, so I don't know if it was an issue there as well.

j0j081 01-23-08 06:04 AM

Re: Why is my FSB multiplier fluctuating after an overclock?
 
you should be happy it's fluctuating. these cpus are very good at speeding up when they need to. it makes zero difference when doing anything intensive and saves power and keeps your cpu cool when not. it may also increase the life of your processor rather than running it at full speed all the time.

Buckeye 01-23-08 08:06 AM

Re: Why is my FSB multiplier fluctuating after an overclock?
 
Yup I agree on that. I keep mine on durning the day as I am mostly and do not need the OC for that. But it's really nice to have it just kick in when I fire up a game.

ryan29121 01-31-08 01:15 PM

Re: Why is my FSB multiplier fluctuating after an overclock?
 
I tried to search my BIOS for an option named speed step but I couldnt find anything resembling it. I took pictures of my bios screens to see if you recognize anything I could change to fix this fluctuating FSB multiplier. Thanks in advance for your help.
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a79/ryan7066/BIOS.jpg

ryan29121 02-01-08 07:19 AM

Re: Why is my FSB multiplier fluctuating after an overclock?
 
anyone know how to fix this?

Revs 02-01-08 07:40 AM

Re: Why is my FSB multiplier fluctuating after an overclock?
 
Yup, here it is. You need to disable these two options

Attachment 30091

As lduguay said, it's called EIST and C1E in most BIOS's.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.