nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   randr support... perhaps I am misunderstanding how it works (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=107253)

happyfunbot 02-01-08 10:39 AM

randr support... perhaps I am misunderstanding how it works
 
To lay the groundwork, I've got 169.09 installed, as well as xorg 7.3.

On my work machine, which has an ATI board, I use the open source radeonhd driver. xrandr seems to work as I expect on two monitors (1920x1200 and 1280x1024) in fakerama (i.e., one X display, :0.0) with a very simple configuration:

Code:

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "Console"
        VendorName      "ATI"
        BoardName      "X1550"
        Driver          "radeonhd"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Screen 0"
        Device          "Console"
        DefaultDepth    24
        SubSection "Display"
                Virtual 3200 1200
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier      "Default Layout"
        Screen          "Screen 0"
        InputDevice    "Generic Keyboard"
        InputDevice    "Configured Mouse" "CorePointer"
EndSection

To wit:

Code:

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 3200 x 1200, maximum 3200 x 1200
DVI-I_1/analog disconnected
DVI-I_1/digital connected 1920x1200+0+0 519mm x 324mm
  1920x1200      60.0*+
  1600x1200      59.9 
  1680x1050      59.9 
  1280x1024      75.0    59.9 
  1152x864      74.9 
  1024x768      75.1    60.0 
  800x600        75.0    60.3 
  640x480        75.0    60.0 
  720x400        70.1 
TV_SVIDEO disconnected
DVI-I_2/analog disconnected
DVI-I_2/digital connected 1280x1024+1920+0 359mm x 287mm
  1280x1024      60.0*+  84.9    75.0    59.9 
  1280x960      84.8    59.9 
  1152x864      75.0    74.9 
  1024x768      84.9    75.1    70.1    60.0 
  832x624        74.6 
  800x600        72.2    75.0    60.3    56.2 
  640x480        84.4    75.0    72.8    66.7    60.0 
  720x400        70.1

I can adjust the resolution, rotation, refresh, etc. of each monitor individually, but keep them within the same :0.0 display, thus allowing me to move windows between them, etc.

At home, I have an NVidia board with two 1920x1200 monitors that seems to require TwinView to get the two monitors on the same :0.0 display. No matter what I try, unless I activate TwinView, I can't get the two monitors to share a display. Unfortunately, randr isn't very useful in this mode, since the nvidia driver reports only a virtual display:

Code:

Screen 0: minimum 3840 x 1200, current 3840 x 1200, maximum 3840 x 1200
default connected 3840x1200+0+0 0mm x 0mm
  3840x1200      50.0*

This clearly eliminates the usefulness of the randr extension and disallows me from dynamically adjusting the resolution or refresh of one of the displays when watching a DVD, using MythTV, or playing games.

Is there something I am misunderstanding, or is the nvidia driver simply not capable of supporting randr in an interesting way (yet)? I'd love to hear that there's some configuration I have simply not tried yet.

chunkey 02-01-08 10:47 AM

Re: randr support... perhaps I am misunderstanding how it works
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by happyfunbot
At home, I have an NVidia board with two 1920x1200 monitors that seems to require TwinView to get the two monitors on the same :0.0 display. No matter what I try, unless I activate TwinView, I can't get the two monitors to share a display. Unfortunately, randr isn't very useful in this mode, since the nvidia driver reports only a virtual display:

Code:

Screen 0: minimum 3840 x 1200, current 3840 x 1200, maximum 3840 x 1200
default connected 3840x1200+0+0 0mm x 0mm
  3840x1200      50.0*

This clearly eliminates the usefulness of the randr extension and disallows me from dynamically adjusting the resolution or refresh of one of the displays when watching a DVD, using MythTV, or playing games.

Is there something I am misunderstanding, or is the nvidia driver simply not capable of supporting randr in an interesting way (yet)? I'd love to hear that there's some configuration I have simply not tried yet.

I guess you're looking for "metamodes" option,
see
Chapter 13
for more information...

happyfunbot 02-01-08 10:49 AM

Re: randr support... perhaps I am misunderstanding how it works
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chunkey
I guess you're looking for "metamodes" option,
see
Chapter 13
for more information...

Why do I have to enumerate all the possible modes? Doesn't the driver know what modes are possible for each monitor given the EDID information? I'm confused about the need for this complexity considering the radeonhd driver just figures it out.

AaronP 02-01-08 02:27 PM

Re: randr support... perhaps I am misunderstanding how it works
 
happyfunbot,

The driver does not yet support RandR 1.2, but it already supports display configuration through nvidia-settings.

happyfunbot 02-01-08 03:50 PM

Re: randr support... perhaps I am misunderstanding how it works
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AaronP
happyfunbot,

The driver does not yet support RandR 1.2, but it already supports display configuration through nvidia-settings.

Okay, so I'm not going insane.

When is this support expected? It's pretty key for systems like MythTV, which do automatic resolution and refresh rate changes using RandR to improve performance and experience.

MaDDeePee 06-19-11 05:15 PM

Re: randr support... perhaps I am misunderstanding how it works
 
Looking for an alternative to Xinerama or TwinView (4 screen setup with Compiz), Randr 1.2 isn't still supported yet. Can someone confirm this?

Code:

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 175, current 1680 x 1050, maximum 1680 x 1050
default connected 1680x1050+0+0 0mm x 0mm
  1680x1050      50.0*
  1400x1050      51.0    52.0 
  1280x1024      53.0    54.0    55.0 
  1280x960      56.0    57.0 
  1152x864      58.0 
  1024x768      59.0    60.0    61.0    62.0    63.0    64.0 
  960x720        65.0    66.0 
  928x696        67.0    68.0 
  896x672        69.0    70.0 
  832x624        71.0 
  800x600        72.0    73.0    74.0    75.0    76.0    77.0    78.0    79.0    80.0    81.0 
  720x400        82.0 
  700x525        83.0    84.0 
  640x512        85.0    86.0    87.0 
  640x480        88.0    89.0    90.0    91.0    92.0    93.0    94.0    95.0 
  640x400        96.0 
  640x350        97.0 
  576x432        98.0 
  512x384        99.0    100.0    101.0    102.0    103.0 
  416x312      104.0 
  400x300      105.0    106.0    107.0    108.0    109.0 
  360x200      110.0 
  320x240      111.0    112.0    113.0    114.0 
  320x200      115.0 
  320x175      116.0

I guess for that reason i can only get a "default" connected?
Now, that JoGL with Xinerama is broken its about time a get a workaround for people using >= 3 Screens.
No matter if you expand twinview or fix Xinerama support...im not complaining about missing Compiz...but i need JoGL @ >= 3 Screens.

Help much appreciated.
(No, i don't want to buy some expensive DVI-splitter...)
"02-01-08, 02:27 PM AaronP" (...)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.