nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Why is my 320gb hard drive only reading 141gb? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=108445)

ryan29121 02-20-08 08:47 AM

Why is my 320gb hard drive only reading 141gb?
 
I just put together a computer and the 320gb hard drive I put in it is only reading that is has 141gb. When I went to install XP it only wanted to partition 141gb and only recognized that it had that much. It was the first format of the hard drive. The computer has an XFX 680i board and a seagate 320. Any suggestions on what I can do?

Also I figure I should ask another questions to: How do you unlink a RAID 0 array?

stncttr908 02-20-08 09:03 AM

Re: Why is my 320gb hard drive only reading 141gb?
 
The first question, is the install disc old old XP? Or is it SP1/SP2? If it's the original disc I'd rip it to another PC and slipstream SP2 into it. A program called nLite is perfect for this and lets you customize the installer in many different ways.

Secondly, you can't. You have to backup what you want to keep (or ghost the entire thing to a file/another drive) then destroy the array and format the individual drives.

walterman 02-20-08 09:04 AM

Re: Why is my 320gb hard drive only reading 141gb?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ryan29121
I just put together a computer and the 320gb hard drive I put in it is only reading that is has 141gb. When I went to install XP it only wanted to partition 141gb and only recognized that it had that much. It was the first format of the hard drive. The computer has an XFX 680i board and a seagate 320. Any suggestions on what I can do?

Also I figure I should ask another questions to: How do you unlink a RAID 0 array?

What version of XP ? prior to SP1 ?

You need at least SP1 for LBA48 (HDDs bigger than 128GB).

You could use a smaller partition for your XP installation, upgrade it to SP2+, and then partition the rest of the hdd.

Also you could slipstream the SP2 with your XP CD.

Good luck :)

ryan29121 02-20-08 10:17 AM

Re: Why is my 320gb hard drive only reading 141gb?
 
Yes, the disk I used is the "original" installer which is pre-SP1. If i installed it with a 141gb partition can I create a new partition of the rest of the HDD for when I install vista in a dual boot? So what I mean is will the remaining of the hard drive show up when I go to install vista?

Also, how do you destroy the RAID array? I have never set up a RAID array before nor took one down. And thanks for all the help so far.

andy_nv 02-20-08 11:42 AM

Re: Why is my 320gb hard drive only reading 141gb?
 
Delete the array via the controller setup (bios like).
You could use Partition Magic or something similar after to repartition the drives if the XP installation CD doesn't detect them first hand.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.