nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Crysis (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   DX 10 question. Not using very high settings (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=110066)

Caveman Lawyer 03-18-08 11:36 AM

DX 10 question. Not using very high settings
 
I wanted to know if there is any reason to have Crysis installed on Vista using my 8800gts if im not using the very high settings? Is DX 10 even being used if I dont use "Very High" graphics settings?

Revs 03-18-08 11:44 AM

Re: DX 10 question. Not using very high settings
 
If you load the game in DX10 mode, it'll work in DX10 no matter what settings you choose. But there is little reason to load the game in DX10 if you're not using settings above 'High' as DX9 generally out performs DX10. If you're thinking about installing Vista solely for DX10 in Crysis, I wouldn't bother. XP still outperforms Vista in most cases. Not all, but most.

Welcome to the forum :)

Caveman Lawyer 03-18-08 11:48 AM

Re: DX 10 question. Not using very high settings
 
Thank you very much. I think im going to scrub my Vista and re-install my XP. I think the DX 10 features I may be using, I wont even notice them if they were off. I would perfer a higher resolution with smoother frame rates.

Revs 03-18-08 11:54 AM

Re: DX 10 question. Not using very high settings
 
If you're not going over 'high' settings, you're not getting any more detail by using DX10. As for going back to XP, that's a personal preference. I like Vista, and performance is very close to XP now. It's also more secure and looks faaar nicer :D I suppose it depends on your system specs.

Caveman Lawyer 03-18-08 12:10 PM

Re: DX 10 question. Not using very high settings
 
Im running:
Asus P5N-D 750i SLi
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0ghz 6Mb cache
2x Nvidia 8800 GTS 320Mb Sli
2 gigs Cosair XMS DDR2 800 (getting another 2gigs in the mail today! :) )
Creative Audigy 2 ZS
2 WD Raptor 36Gb in RAID 0

I would have thought I could get a bit more performance outta Crysis, but I guess the lower GPU's im using are limiting this.

Revs 03-18-08 12:27 PM

Re: DX 10 question. Not using very high settings
 
It depents on the res. you're playing at. I see you're not OCing, why? Upping your FSB and OCing them cards will give you a pretty major boost in performance.

CaptNKILL 03-18-08 01:21 PM

Re: DX 10 question. Not using very high settings
 
He's probably running out of video memory. 320Mb goes pretty quick with two 8800s in SLI.

m3dude 03-18-08 05:48 PM

Re: DX 10 question. Not using very high settings
 
dx10 has 2 benefits i know of that can not be achieved under dx 9, however im not sure if they are tied to very high settings, u would have to test and compare.

1. less foliage aliasing
2. no materialization of objects.

if i had vista id test for myself but i dont

edit - forgot to mention that even with hacked very high settings under dx9 u dont receive those 2 benefits.

Eliminator 03-18-08 10:01 PM

Re: DX 10 question. Not using very high settings
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by m3dude
1. less foliage aliasing

thats just an option in the game you can turn on... it just blurs the leaves... looks like utter crap imo... i keep it off

i believe its this one
r_UseEdgeAA=0

m3dude 03-19-08 02:11 AM

Re: DX 10 question. Not using very high settings
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Eliminator
thats just an option in the game you can turn on... it just blurs the leaves... looks like utter crap imo... i keep it off

i believe its this one
r_UseEdgeAA=0

no im not referring to that command, what im referring to is inherent to dx10. if stage6 was still working id link u to a video comparison showing it. it was in 1 of jonelos crysis videos. these are the edgeaa commands

edgeaa 0
http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/4199/c1jv7.th.jpg

edgeaa 1
http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/5571/c2wh0.th.jpg

edgeaa 2
http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/7907/c3og8.th.jpg

edgeaa 0
http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/4241/c4sc8.th.jpg

edgeaa 1
http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/7992/c5mk6.th.jpg

edgeaa 2
http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/2277/c6ej7.th.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.