nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   too ad there s no rpm anymore (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=11101)

grocanar 05-01-03 03:01 PM

too ad there s no rpm anymore
 
how can we do some pull client installation
from a server like it was possible with the
rpm installer with a good rpm installer
like autorpm?

I used to do that with the former provided
rpm files and now i don't know how can i do
the same with thre new installed

i have more than 2 hundred machines to put
in sync with nvdia driver but theses machines
are highy heterogeneous ( above all with
kernel version )
i wouldn't prefer not to have to built explicitly
the driver for each version of kernel.
it was automagicly done with some rpmbuild
tool before.

Andy Mecham 05-01-03 03:27 PM

You should be able to modify your scripts slightly to run the installer with the -s option.

--andy

grocanar 05-01-03 05:01 PM

well it s not script
it s an application to manipulate rpm package

Andy Mecham 05-01-03 05:23 PM

I know what rpmbuild is - i'm referring to the script or program that calls rpmbuild.

--andy

grocanar 05-06-03 03:31 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Andy Mecham
I know what rpmbuild is - i'm referring to the script or program that calls rpmbuild.

--andy

Well this program has not root acces.
then it could launch the install script but will
have no chance to has the right.

The application that install the rpm can't
launch the script install but has the right.

I would prefer not break all the things i put
in place just to install the nvidia driver.

Nevertheless thanks for your answer even if
it doesn't solve my problem.

bwkaz 05-06-03 09:03 AM

OK, so could you modify the scripts to pass --extract-only to the installer, cd into the new directory (which will be named NVIDIA* -- this will only work if the .run file isn't in the current directory), and run make?

grocanar 05-12-03 07:45 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by bwkaz
OK, so could you modify the scripts to pass --extract-only to the installer, cd into the new directory (which will be named NVIDIA* -- this will only work if the .run file isn't in the current directory), and run make?
Well on the client i don't launch scripts
i launch autorpm that does the job.

It just does update the nvidia rpm package
if a fresher version is available.

I guess i will have to maintain myself a rpm
of what the installer does.

Then you can imagine i didn't think it s an
improvment :D :):D :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.