nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   [173.08]2D is very slow (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=111529)

kriko 04-11-08 12:52 PM

[173.08]2D is very slow
 
Hello!
I'm trying out the new drivers and they work fine (ut2k4 without artefacts), but in 2d mode is slow. I use KDE and it is very responsive and fast, but with those new drivers it is painfully slow.
For e.g.:
I open kwrite with some text and scrolling in it takes seconds before it completes (scrolled just few lines).
Then if you open e.g. a fullscreen app over an instance of kwrite (whatever), you can see kwrite behind repainting when you minimize app in front.

I have Geforce 7600GT.
Is this a know issue? Meanwhile reverting back to stable release.

gbil 04-11-08 01:21 PM

Re: [173.08]2D is very slow
 
I noticed a slowness in Gnome also, under F9 beta (with Xorg 1.5 RC1).

For example in gnome-terminal there is a noticeable pause between pressing Enter and contents coming up the terminal.

Back to xorg 1.3 and 171.06 for me.

pawels133 04-11-08 01:52 PM

Re: [173.08]2D is very slow
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

[173.08]2D is very slow
Right. In some cases 173.08 is much slower than 169.12 (but it was very slow too!). KDE4 is still unusable. Dragging a box around desktop isn't smooth (in kde3/4). There's problem with icons now. Sometimes they disappear. "Happy" owner of Geforce 6800.

txf 04-11-08 02:05 PM

Re: [173.08]2D is very slow
 
anybody using the glyph cache? I was hoping that 2d would improve as driver numbers went up esp relating to kde4.

pawels133 04-11-08 02:17 PM

Re: [173.08]2D is very slow
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by txf
anybody using the glyph cache? I was hoping that 2d would improve as driver numbers went up esp relating to kde4.

No difference for me. Maybe it will helps on 8xxx series.

kriko 04-11-08 03:56 PM

Re: [173.08]2D is very slow
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by txf
anybody using the glyph cache? I was hoping that 2d would improve as driver numbers went up esp relating to kde4.

No difference here either, something is really wrong with this beta driver.

kriko 04-11-08 03:56 PM

Re: [173.08]2D is very slow
 
EDIT: doble post, sorry

txf 04-11-08 04:01 PM

Re: [173.08]2D is very slow
 
oops...glyph cache works only on series 8/9....but I found Initialpixmapplacement=2 to help on kde 4 (only very slightly). I had always thought that the 2D slowness was restricted to 8/9 series cards

Whats worse is that I tried kde4 under vista and it runs super smooth, a lot better than under linux (it should be the opposite way around)

I read somewhere that running xgl makes things a lot faster esp regarding kde4. Of course then you can't change gfx settings and the other quirks associated with xgl.

sambo57u 04-11-08 04:37 PM

Re: [173.08]2D is very slow
 
Something is seriously wrong...debug code...2d much smaller than 171.06 on NVS290.

pawels133 04-11-08 04:45 PM

Re: [173.08]2D is very slow
 
Quote:

Whats worse is that I tried kde4 under vista and it runs super smooth, a lot better than under linux (it should be the opposite way around)
LOL. It's just too enough :D. I'll better find some better supported card. Maybe it's good idea to inform Phoronix etc. that nvidia really sux? Few years with that crappy drivers...

tilseboy 04-11-08 05:32 PM

Re: [173.08]2D is very slow
 
I have a 8800GTS and the new driver is slower than 171.06.
I know that glxgears isn't a good benchmarking tool but I miss 6000 Frames in comparison to the last beta...

Greetings
Michael

gonzo.init 04-11-08 05:54 PM

Re: [173.08]2D is very slow
 
what U all doing..?

Nvidia has been the number one choice for Linux users since... since... forever! and Ive been using it since 2001 (Linux/nvidia), never have I resorted to the excuse *blame it on nvidia* because once one look at the other options... nuthin'

I think it's a user- or hardware problem... I've used nVIDIA and Linux for years and never had any of your problems, fact is that I build computers and install Linux for customers that feel like testing something better...

Ohh, You are using beta software..? Like compiz..? Well, then you have to understand that alpha/beta software isn't for everybody... and above all not for you...

this is a good tip for many people out there...

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.