nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Crysis (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Crysis slowdown after 5minutes (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=111905)

Toss3 04-18-08 06:37 AM

Crysis slowdown after 5minutes
 
2 Attachment(s)
Having a bit of a problem getting Crysis to run as it should; after 5 minutes of game play, the game slows down to a crawl. This always happen when memory usage exceeds ~1300mb, and only happens in vista. Running it in 32bit doesn't make a difference.

Added some screenshots so that you could get a better idea of what I'm talking about.

Nothing is overheating and I recently increased my memory to 4Gb from 2Gb(thought this was the problem).

Seems to be a problem with Vista and I'd love it if someone could see if it affects everyone or just me?

Revs 04-18-08 06:49 AM

Re: Crysis slowdown after 5minutes
 
What happens if you Alt-Tab out and back in?

Toss3 04-18-08 06:52 AM

Re: Crysis slowdown after 5minutes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Revs
What happens if you Alt-Tab out and back in?

Haven't tried that yet, but I'm gonna try reinstalling it without any of the patches to see if that makes a difference. Thanks for the suggestion though and I'll try it as soon as I get crysis installed again(which takes a pretty long time)!

Revs 04-18-08 07:21 AM

Re: Crysis slowdown after 5minutes
 
I've not been having much luck with the 1.2 patch :thumbdwn:

I haven't tried the patch for the patch yet though.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=110228

ASUSEN7900GTX 04-18-08 07:25 AM

Re: Crysis slowdown after 5minutes
 
have you installed the 1.2+1.21?

might fix a few issues

Toss3 04-18-08 07:34 AM

Re: Crysis slowdown after 5minutes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ASUSEN7900GTX
have you installed the 1.2+1.21?

might fix a few issues

I was running on the 1.21 patch earlier, and now without any patches I have the same problem.
Alt+tab doesn't seem to work at all in crysis :-/. The issue occurs when memory usage exceeds 1300mb. Must be a vista problem - didn't have this problem in xp. Gonna try dx9 next.

Toss3 04-18-08 07:39 AM

Re: Crysis slowdown after 5minutes
 
Definitely a dx10 issue; no slowdown in dx9 even though memory usage was way over 1400mb.

Revs 04-18-08 07:43 AM

Re: Crysis slowdown after 5minutes
 
Hmm. Have you checked the Crysis site for solutions?

Also, are you up-to-date with your DX and Vista updates?

Toss3 04-18-08 08:11 AM

Re: Crysis slowdown after 5minutes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Revs
Hmm. Have you checked the Crysis site for solutions?

Also, are you up-to-date with your DX and Vista updates?

Yup, just did a reinstall of vista on my new samsung F1.

Any known nvidia patches for vista that I could try maybe? :)

(this game runs pretty nicely on dx9 ;))

Gonna try dx10 + high settings, same ones I used on dx9.

Revs 04-18-08 08:14 AM

Re: Crysis slowdown after 5minutes
 
Nekro is the man to talk to about updates, seems to know alot about them. I assume you've got SP1 installed?

Toss3 04-18-08 08:37 AM

Re: Crysis slowdown after 5minutes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Revs
Nekro is the man to talk to about updates, seems to know alot about them. I assume you've got SP1 installed?

Yep, but I now can't seem to get the memory usage above 1300mb with dx10+high settings.

One thing that I do find odd is how different the memory usage is between dx9 and dx10; dx9 seems to use a lot more memory than dx10 from the start of the level(~1200mb), while the memory usage increases gradually with dx10(starting from ~900mb).

r_texturestreaming = 0 doesn't seem to have the same affect in dx10 as it has in dx9.

Zeus666 04-18-08 05:01 PM

Re: Crysis slowdown after 5minutes
 
If you already have the SP1 installed, then DO NOT follow this link:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/940105/

Hope someone fix your problem :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.