nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   CPUs, Motherboards And Memory (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Q6600 O/C on P5K-E (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=111964)

hid3out 04-19-08 12:17 AM

Q6600 O/C on P5K-E
 
I have some knowledge about graphics, processors, however i dont know much about motherboards.
I'm building pc for gaming, 3d animation rendendering (lightwave, maya), and aplications like after effects, photoshop.
This is what i have choosen up to now:

Asus P5K-E WiFi Intel P35 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard


Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 "Energy Efficient SLACR 95W Edition" 2.40GHz (1066FSB) + Scythe Andy Samurai Master CPU Cooler (Socket 478/754/939/940/AM2/LGA775)


2x Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2GB (2x1GB) DDR2 PC2-8500C5 1066MHz Dual Channel Kit


Gigabyte GeForce 8800 GT OC 512MB GDDR3 HDTV/Dual DVI


Corsair TX 650W ATX2.2 SLi Compliant PSU


I know that the motherboard is good for o/c q6600, but it doesnt have sli support, because i'd like to buy next 88000gt on summer. So do u have any suggestion about that?

if i skip sli i need to change power supplier, any suggestions which one will be good?

Do u know how much p5k-e and Ballistix DDR2 PC2-8500C5 1066MHz 4x1gb can overclock this q6600? 3,6GHz, maybe more? (;

hid3out 04-19-08 01:03 AM

Re: Q6600 O/C on P5K-E
 
One more question which one is the best for O/C:

Asus P5K-E WiFi Intel P35

Asus P5K3 Deluxe WiFi Intel P35

**B Grade** Asus P5K3 Deluxe WiFi Intel P35

chigger_ns 05-18-08 09:18 AM

Re: Q6600 O/C on P5K-E
 
I dont know what to tell you qther than I have an Asus P5K-E WiFi With a q6600 Oclocked to 3.0 ghz on air. I just set the fsb to 333 and left the rest to auto. Easy as pie. Passes all the tests. It could go way higher but I dont want to kill my main pc just yet. Temps seem good too.
I also have an bfg 8800 gt 512meg oc, very nice on this board. I didnt over clock it yet . Just waiting for the novelty to ware off.:D

Over all this was one of the easiest boards to set up too.

I didnt do the wifi thing yet. I thought this was a good option for 10 extra bucks {future entertainment machine}

Toss3 05-18-08 02:20 PM

Re: Q6600 O/C on P5K-E
 
I just got the Asus P5K-E Wifi today and haven't really gotten to overclocking yet! :) There are numerous reports around the net saying that this is THE board for quad core overclocking, but we'll see soon enough if that holds true! Can't wait to push for 4Ghz!! (nana2) (not going to come close due to a very high VID :( )

Had some problems getting the drivers for the chipset installed due to me running server 2008, but it seems to be running fine now.

28c idle temp on all four cores! :)

EDIT: Here's a guide on how to do the pencil mod for the P5K-E Wifi: http://www.overclock.net/motherboard...-e-pencil.html

Did it a few seconds ago and it was very very easy and my core voltage is now stable! :)

Currently running at 380x9.0(3400Mhz) with 1.45V set in Bios and 1.4325 in Windows(some drop there but it's rock stable!).

wysiwyg 05-20-08 08:02 AM

Re: Q6600 O/C on P5K-E
 
i have my 6600 at 3ghz

mailman2 05-20-08 08:25 AM

Re: Q6600 O/C on P5K-E
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Toss3
I just got the Asus P5K-E Wifi today and haven't really gotten to overclocking yet! :) There are numerous reports around the net saying that this is THE board for quad core overclocking, but we'll see soon enough if that holds true! Can't wait to push for 4Ghz!! (nana2) (not going to come close due to a very high VID :( )

Had some problems getting the drivers for the chipset installed due to me running server 2008, but it seems to be running fine now.

28c idle temp on all four cores! :)

EDIT: Here's a guide on how to do the pencil mod for the P5K-E Wifi: http://www.overclock.net/motherboard...-e-pencil.html

Did it a few seconds ago and it was very very easy and my core voltage is now stable! :)

Currently running at 380x9.0(3400Mhz) with 1.45V set in Bios and 1.4325 in Windows(some drop there but it's rock stable!).


P5K wifi is a great board, had mine for awhile now. Mine is Pencil modded and has gotten me great OCs with quads, E8400s, E3110s, everything I put in it. I stuck a 50mm fan on the NB and applied AS5 to both the NB and SB when I first got it, I always do that though.

I can take this chip up to 3.9 for benchmarking but here is my 24/7 OC with G0 Q6600. I've since been able to drop vcore to 1.35v and its still prime stable, this was my SS at 1.37v though. A good G0 should be able to push 3.2 @ stock volts, 3.4 with a slight bump, etc. You might be giving yours alot more vcore than it needs right now.

http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/9...384vij3.th.jpg

Toss3 05-22-08 09:05 AM

Re: Q6600 O/C on P5K-E
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mailman2
P5K wifi is a great board, had mine for awhile now. Mine is Pencil modded and has gotten me great OCs with quads, E8400s, E3110s, everything I put in it. I stuck a 50mm fan on the NB and applied AS5 to both the NB and SB when I first got it, I always do that though.

I can take this chip up to 3.9 for benchmarking but here is my 24/7 OC with G0 Q6600. I've since been able to drop vcore to 1.35v and its still prime stable, this was my SS at 1.37v though. A good G0 should be able to push 3.2 @ stock volts, 3.4 with a slight bump, etc. You might be giving yours alot more vcore than it needs right now.

http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/9...384vij3.th.jpg

Mine needs a lot of volts in order to clock even beyond 3ghz.. :( I always get the ****ty processors that won't overclock for ****! Well maybe I'll get a q9450(or x3350) later this summer when the prices drop.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.