nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   bios or cpu-z, which is wrong? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=112376)

grey_1 04-27-08 04:49 PM

bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?
 
I have my ram set at 2.1 and 1T in the bios, but look at cpu-z.
http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/9153/benchgx9.th.jpg
It's also pc2-8500, not pc2-6400. Or am I totally missing something?
Is there any other way to check these settings?

TIA

jcrox 04-27-08 05:28 PM

Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?
 
are you running your memory @ 1066? I think cpu-z is just reporting the speed you're running at, not the speed its rated for, mine says the same thing

grey_1 04-27-08 05:34 PM

Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?
 
Ok, maybe that's all it is. I'm at 866 at the moment. I just learned I could tighten timings beyond spec, so I'm playing with tighter timings and lower voltages.

Spec is 2.3v and 5-5-5-15.

Currently at 2.1 and 4-5-4-15, 866 with cpu at 260x12, default vcore. This is since that screenshot, and stable as heck at the moment.

CL4 @ 1066 is a no boot though. :( :p

Zapablast05 04-27-08 05:34 PM

Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?
 
Try downloading the new CPU-Z version.

jcrox 04-27-08 05:44 PM

Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zapablast05
Try downloading the new CPU-Z version.

I had to download cpu-z just to check what mine said so I think it's the new version.

grey_1 04-27-08 05:44 PM

Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zapablast05
Try downloading the new CPU-Z version.

I will.

EDIT: got it, shows exactly the same. I think it's just a quirk like jcrox said.

XDanger 04-30-08 05:54 PM

Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?
 
Please correct me if i'm wrong but I thought all DDR2 >800mhz was pc2-6400, normal is DDR2-800, pc2-8500 is a made up name for 1066 pc2-6400, not a JEDEC standard.

Toss3 05-04-08 12:14 AM

Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?
 
Maybe you should try pushing the "memory" tab instead of "SPD". ;)

Amuro 05-04-08 12:38 AM

Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?
 
First, you're on the SPD tab which only shows the JEDEC standards and rated specs for the memory modules, use the Memory tab to see what they're actually running at. Second, CPU-z recognize the RAM as PC2-6400 because that was the JEDEC standard found on the SPD. The highest JEDEC standard for DDR2 modules is 800Mhz 5-5-5-18, i.e, PC2-6400, and anything above it is considered OC.

grey_1 05-04-08 06:17 AM

Re: bios or cpu-z, which is wrong?
 
I did, maybe I didn't show enough info -
http://img381.imageshack.us/img381/8272/33565060uq5.jpg

I'm still set to 1T in the bios, but other values have changed since I posted this thread. cpu-z still shows 2T.

It's not really a big deal I guess, I just like to confirm with folks who know more than I do.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.