nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   GLX module problem (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=11257)

paleq 05-04-03 03:37 PM

GLX module problem
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hi, i'm having a problem with the nvidia GLX module. I'm using the 4363 drivers. The problem is that the nvidia driver loads fine, but GLX won't load. The readme tells me to take out the line 'Load "GLX"', like i did with the 4191 drivers, and the 4191's worked great. Only problem is when i take this line out GLX doesnt load, but when it is there, GLX loads perfectly but with totally abismal DVD playback.... The only thing i can think of that could be going wrong is if i am using the NVIDIA drivers with the DRI GLX module... what do you think?

I havent tried it yet, but RenderAccel might work... i'll give it a shot and post back

paleq 05-04-03 03:43 PM

nope
 
i just checked my XFree86.0.log and the GLX module being loaded is the nvidia one without a doubt......
(II) LoadModule: "glx"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.so
(II) Module glx: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
compiled for 4.0.2, module version = 1.0.4363
Module class: XFree86 Server Extension
ABI class: XFree86 Server Extension, version 0.1
(II) Loading extension GLX
idia one without a doubt

bwkaz 05-04-03 05:27 PM

What is the problem now? You've contradicted yourself like 10 times in your first post regarding whether Load "glx" works properly...

And you need your Load line to be Load "glx", NOT Load "GLX". Linux is case sensitive.

DVD playback has nothing to do with GL, either, unless your DVD player program uses GL (the way it'd do it is to make one rectangular GL surface, and change the bitmap that it's using to texture that polygon). However, I really doubt that any of them have this as your only option.

Your DVD playback is very likely a 2D-only thing.

paleq 05-07-03 12:48 PM

thanks
 
yeah thanks and all, but i asked for help, not a smart ass reply... first thngs first. i know about the case sensitivity, it was just a typo. Secondly, RenderAccel affects 2d rendering which is why when i enabled it, all problems were gone. It would appear that the drivers are designed so the hardware cannot transfer to the screen fast enough unles this option is available... just a minor issue. I'm not a newbie, but i'm no expert either. I just think all the experts in the world ought to stop getting so irritated so quickly. Nobody is forcing you to reply remember...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.