nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Overclock AMD black edition (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=112627)

tone 05-02-08 01:12 AM

Overclock AMD black edition
 
I just recently built my computer with an amd 5000 black edition. I did some reading around and found that lots of people are able to overclock it to 3ghz without messing with the vcore or needing extra cooling. The clock multiplier is unlocked with the black edition, so I just figured as soon as I got my system up and running, I could just go in to the BIOS and increase the multiplier.

I have a MSI k9mm-v motherboard with latest bios installed. there is no setting in the bios to modify the clock multiplier. so, my question is, does that mean I am out of luck for overclocking my cpu? I bought a nice thermaltake tr2-r1 cpu cooler for it and it's running really cool at stock.

Thanks.

Dazz 05-04-08 03:26 PM

Re: Overclock AMD black edition
 
As tends to be the case updating to the latest option for the Multiplier.

j0j081 05-04-08 04:23 PM

Re: Overclock AMD black edition
 
oops. sorry posted in the wrong thread when having multiple tabs open so free bump.

tone 05-05-08 11:48 PM

Re: Overclock AMD black edition
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dazz
As tends to be the case updating to the latest option for the Multiplier.

What do you mean "updating to the latest option"? I stated in my original post that I have the latest bios installed.

Is there anyone that could recommend some software to use to overclock the cpu? this amd black edition 5000 can overclock to 3ghz easy with just regular air cooling. I just need some recommendations on what software to use since it looks like I wont be able to overclock via bios.

j0j081 05-06-08 04:27 AM

Re: Overclock AMD black edition
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tone
What do you mean "updating to the latest option"? I stated in my original post that I have the latest bios installed.

Is there anyone that could recommend some software to use to overclock the cpu? this amd black edition 5000 can overclock to 3ghz easy with just regular air cooling. I just need some recommendations on what software to use since it looks like I wont be able to overclock via bios.

what chipset does that mobo use? If it is Nvidia you could try Ntune.

tone 05-06-08 05:23 PM

Re: Overclock AMD black edition
 
the motherboard has a VIA K8M800 Chipset. what software can I use to overclock the amd black edition cpu if I am out of luck doing it from the bios?

http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...p?model=K9MM-V

j0j081 05-07-08 04:51 AM

Re: Overclock AMD black edition
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tone
the motherboard has a VIA K8M800 Chipset. what software can I use to overclock the amd black edition cpu if I am out of luck doing it from the bios?

http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...p?model=K9MM-V

You might be able to use AMD's overdrive tool. It looks pretty nice I've never tried it as I went Intel recently but now that I'm looking at it I might try it on my parents HP pc with an Athlon X2. Here is some info about it.

http://www.amd.com/us-en/0,,3715_153..._15359,00.html

Here is where to download it.

http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_overdrive.aspx

Overclocking from within windows isn't usually recommended regardless of how you are doing it though. If you have any extra money you might want to pick up a new mobo. There are some really great ones for ocing the black edition cpus even in the 50-70 dollar price range. Let me know if that software works for you though it's worth a try.

Lfctony 05-07-08 06:26 PM

Re: Overclock AMD black edition
 
ClockGen might work too. Used it way back to overclock my P4.

Dazz 05-08-08 06:49 PM

Re: Overclock AMD black edition
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tone
What do you mean "updating to the latest option"? I stated in my original post that I have the latest bios installed.

Is there anyone that could recommend some software to use to overclock the cpu? this amd black edition 5000 can overclock to 3ghz easy with just regular air cooling. I just need some recommendations on what software to use since it looks like I wont be able to overclock via bios.

Sorry was typing but a program loaded so didn't ype part of it. I ment you may want to get the option available update to the latest BIOS for your motherboard.

tone 05-09-08 07:57 PM

Re: Overclock AMD black edition
 
Well, I tried amd overdrive, but it doesn't support my chipset apparently. Only works with the brand new amd 7 series.

Well, this kinda sucks, I wish I knew this motherboard didnt have the option to overclock in bios before I bought it. I bought it on newegg and all the user reviews were great.

thanks all for the advice, I'll have to just stick with 2.6ghz for now.

Dazz 05-15-08 04:44 PM

Re: Overclock AMD black edition
 
You should still be able to overclock with the FSB/HTT.

Redeemed 05-15-08 06:55 PM

Re: Overclock AMD black edition
 
Any time I've oc'd an AMD proc, even with my FX-60, I just up the mem speed, thus upping the HTT speed (I believe) which in turn ups the CPU frequency. I've tried using the multiplier, doesn't seem too helpful though.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.