nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=113402)

Intel-Inside 05-18-08 06:26 AM

Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER
 
I overclocked to 3.0ghz, same voltage with stock cooler, i did stress test, according to Real Temp it got to 75c highest, and when its hot in the room at 100% load i'd say it would each 85c at least.

Is this bad, i mean real bad or is it ok for stock cooler? im hoping to replace it by monday, or tuesday because im ordering a better cooler, much better cooler i just need advice if to turn it off for now the overclock and re-enable when i got the cooler!

According to my TEMP MONITOR LCD on front cpu was only at 48c on stress but all i done is shuved the sensor into the heatsink at the far back near the top which is inaccurate so im like add 20c onto that, and thats the real temp. like 68c on lcd.

What is safe temperatures for this type of overclock am i pushing it too far? this was measured on Tj. Max tool, Tj. Max was 100c.

Any ideas?
Thanks,
Intel

grey_1 05-18-08 07:04 AM

Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER
 
That's pretty hot. Personally I would ignore the case temp sensor, you already know that's not accurate. I'd leave the speed at default until I had the aftermarket cooler. My personal cutoff is 50c, anything over that bothers me.

BrianG 05-18-08 08:40 AM

Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Intel-Inside
I overclocked to 3.0ghz, same voltage with stock cooler, i did stress test, according to Real Temp it got to 75c highest, and when its hot in the room at 100% load i'd say it would each 85c at least.

Is this bad, i mean real bad or is it ok for stock cooler? im hoping to replace it by monday, or tuesday because im ordering a better cooler, much better cooler i just need advice if to turn it off for now the overclock and re-enable when i got the cooler!

According to my TEMP MONITOR LCD on front cpu was only at 48c on stress but all i done is shuved the sensor into the heatsink at the far back near the top which is inaccurate so im like add 20c onto that, and thats the real temp. like 68c on lcd.

What is safe temperatures for this type of overclock am i pushing it too far? this was measured on Tj. Max tool, Tj. Max was 100c.

Any ideas?
Thanks,
Intel

G0? Too hot. The fact you are stable with out thermal runaway at 3.0 on the stock means you won't need much to keep it cool. Just about any tower-style heatpipe cooler will do. If you want the mobo to control it, make sure it has a PWM fan.

Intel-Inside 05-18-08 09:11 AM

Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER
 
It says G0 but then it says Stepping: B but Revision: G0 i think it that way.

Also it seems stable at these temps, when i did a test on normal i get about the same temps stressed anyways.

Bman212121 05-18-08 11:02 AM

Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER
 
I would agree that is too hot as well. Real temp is about 5C less than Hwmonitor for me. I would probably just clock it back down until you get a better cooler.

Dazz 05-18-08 01:39 PM

Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER
 
Intels states max thermal spec is 62.2C http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SL9UM

hokeyplyr48 05-18-08 01:57 PM

Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER
 
62.2 for B3, 71 for G0
http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SLACR

Bman212121 05-18-08 06:17 PM

Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hokeyplyr48

QFT

Intel-Inside 05-18-08 06:19 PM

Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER
 
Fixed the overclock!

CPU Speed: 3.00GHZ
FSB: 1333MHZ
Idle Temp: 45c
Load Temp: 60c

Those idle and load temperatures are based on the night, when the room is hot after two pc's generating alot of heat, also quite hot outside now summer is coming up, so that is what i have seen so far.

Notice: Load temp is based on a 100% Load at a period of 15 minutes constant, i would never experience that if im playing games even with any application to be honest, so i can say this is now safe.

Solution: Lower Voltage! 1.450v to 1.300v - It is stable i done a couple test's with stressing etc and it is fine and working smoothly, iv'e still orderd a better heatsink for it so that will lower it even more, im guessing Idle: 35c - Load: 55c Im hoping!

Bman212121 05-18-08 06:37 PM

Re: Q6600 3.00GHZ @ STOCK COOLER
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Intel-Inside
Fixed the overclock!

CPU Speed: 3.00GHZ
FSB: 1333MHZ
Idle Temp: 45c
Load Temp: 60c

Those idle and load temperatures are based on the night, when the room is hot after two pc's generating alot of heat, also quite hot outside now summer is coming up, so that is what i have seen so far.

Notice: Load temp is based on a 100% Load at a period of 15 minutes constant, i would never experience that if im playing games even with any application to be honest, so i can say this is now safe.

Solution: Lower Voltage! 1.450v to 1.300v - It is stable i done a couple test's with stressing etc and it is fine and working smoothly, iv'e still orderd a better heatsink for it so that will lower it even more, im guessing Idle: 35c - Load: 55c Im hoping!

Yea you shouldn't need 1.45V in order to hit 3.0Ghz. I'm running 3.2Ghz right now with 1.41V. That looks like a lot better temps though. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.