nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Software (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Official Unofficial OSX on your non-Apple hardware thread (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=114848)

brady 06-15-08 10:21 PM

Official Unofficial OSX on your non-Apple hardware thread

I just thought this could be a useful thread for those interested in the topic. I've been running Leopard on the system in my sig for several months now. I know six_storm has just joined the ranks and there's quite a few others with some interest. Anyways, post benchmarks, questions, configs, whatever. Just no (lee) stuff you know. For the record I have a legal copy of Leopard and I strongly suggest that anyone installing OSX on their PC go out and buy a retail copy.

So, tomorrow I think I'm going to update to 10.5.3. I thinking of just doing a complete reinstallation. I'm still a little unfamiliar with how the driver system works and I'd just like to start off fresh. What's great is the whole process takes significanly less time than installing Vista. I'm expecing my geekbench performance to improve in 10.5.3. I currently get 8032 in the 64bit benchmark. I'll try to post some 32bit and 64bit benchmarks with comparisons to similarly configured Apple machines.

six_storm 06-15-08 10:38 PM

Re: Official Unofficial OSX on your non-Apple hardware thread

Awesome thread Brady. Things went perfect for my installation, I just still can't believe how easy it was to do it. As for supporting Apple and buying a copy of Leopard, it is still on my list of things to do. I thought at first that you could buy a copy and tweak it in order to make it installable on the PC. So it all works out in the end.

Can't wait to get my new Vostro laptop in soon and install it with XP on the side. Brady, hope this thread last man, I know a lot of people around here are a little touchy with the whole pirating thing.

brady 06-15-08 11:04 PM