nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=115231)

Maverickman 06-22-08 07:33 PM

Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!
 
I was playing COD4 today for about 10 minutes when my computer just shut down. I was able to reboot with no problems, but this was totally unexpected. I have a 750W power supply, so that wasn't the problem. I did set dual-cards to "yes" in the graphics section. The next time I played, I set it to "no," and I played for an hour with no issues. Maybe that dual cards setting was the problem. COD4 plays great at 1920X1200 with 4X AA and AF set at max.

I also played Crysis for over an hour with no problems!

Malichite 06-22-08 08:12 PM

Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!
 
I would suggest that you use a program to monitor the temp of your GPU core since there have been a few of us on the forum that have been having massive overheating (i.e. 100+ C). Best way to see if your card is affected by the same bug I have is to download something to monitor GPU core temp (ie. RivaTuner or Everest) and then get Ozone3d FurMark. If you have one of the anomalous cores like I have, you should see the core rapidly rise to the high 90C - 100+C in only a minute or so running FurMark at a high res with AA. If your card is indeed overheating you may then either experience thermal throttling or sometimes a complete shutdown.

Currently I and several others on the forums are RMAing our new cards as this is definitely NOT normal behavior. Most normal GTX280 will hold around the high 70s C to low 80s C in games and programs like FurMark or rthdrbl. I am curious to hear what you find out, but it is possible you aren't affected and it was related to the driver settings you adjusted.

-Malichite

Maverickman 06-22-08 08:57 PM

Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!
 
I think it was the in-game setting that was the problem. The GTX 280 is obviously not an SLI card. I've played Crysis for over an hour with no problems. When I exit the game, I immediately check my GPU temp. with EVGA Precision and GPU-Z, and it is usually in the 74-76 degree range. I'm assuming that's the approx. temperature under load.

Lfctony 06-22-08 10:47 PM

Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Maverickman (Post 1690406)
I think it was the in-game setting that was the problem. The GTX 280 is obviously not an SLI card. I've played Crysis for over an hour with no problems. When I exit the game, I immediately check my GPU temp. with EVGA Precision and GPU-Z, and it is usually in the 74-76 degree range. I'm assuming that's the approx. temperature under load.

Checking the temp after exiting the game will not do. The temperature fall rapidly after exiting. If you want to really learn the actual operating temps, use furmark in a window while running Rivatuner or EVGA's precision tool...

DRen72 06-22-08 11:16 PM

Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lfctony (Post 1690505)
Checking the temp after exiting the game will not do. The temperature fall rapidly after exiting. If you want to really learn the actual operating temps, use furmark in a window while running Rivatuner or EVGA's precision tool...

+1

LBJM 06-23-08 04:22 AM

Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!
 
you might want to get a G15 keyboard so you can monitor game temps on the fly.

Lfctony 06-23-08 04:41 AM

Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!
 
No need for that, the eVGA precision tool supports OSD for the large majority of games...

pingu2 06-23-08 08:57 AM

Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!
 
as does rivatuner..

s1kb45trd 07-25-08 02:40 PM

Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!
 
me too, crashed in call of duty 4 and crysis.

RMA it while you can! i did, got a new card with no such problems so far.

if you want to keep your faulty core, just increase the fan to 100% + enhance your in-case airflow. or you can downclock your gpu. both will work, but you shouldnt have to deal with these problems in the first place.

rap1d^ 07-26-08 06:11 AM

Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!
 
Just tried out COD4 for the first time since getting my GTX, after 5mins gameplay PC powers itself off. I have no other problems and the temps are fine 70-75c.

Lfctony 07-26-08 06:23 AM

Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rap1d^ (Post 1724069)
Just tried out COD4 for the first time since getting my GTX, after 5mins gameplay PC powers itself off. I have no other problems and the temps are fine 70-75c.

What PSU are you using?

rap1d^ 07-26-08 07:47 AM

Re: Unexpected shutdown with GTX 280!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lfctony (Post 1724072)
What PSU are you using?

It aint the PSU, 1kw Enermax Galaxy and this only happens in COD4


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.