nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Home Theater A/V (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=54)
-   -   PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me) (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=115252)

Mikit0707 06-23-08 03:53 AM

PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)
 
Hi everyone (hope I'm posting this thread in the correct section.... sorry if I'm not)

I have an LGL245WP monitor (HDMI X 1; VGA X 1; Component X 1). I'm trying to connect my PS3 and PC using the single HDMI input on my monitor. So I recently got Belkin PureAV 3 port HDMI switcher. It recognises the PS3 with no problem but puts the monitor into standby when I switch to PC (PC is using a DVI to HDMI cable; I have an 8800gtx in the PC; latest drivers, Vista Ultimate).

What I know so far is: at first it wouldn't sync the PC because my desktop was in 1920X1200 60Hrz refresh. So I dropped it to 1920X1080 at 50 Hrz and it synced... I happily switched between PC and PS3 no problems. Then I turned off my PC and the sync issue happened again. Upon plugging my PC directly into my monitor I saw that my graphics settings hadn't changed (still 1920X1080 at 50hrz) but the switcher wasn't picking it up until I swapped all the plugs around with everything on.

Any suggestions? Please help because owning an HDMI switcher is pointless if I still have to plug and unplug frikking cables to get it to sync. So POed right now. :thumbdwn:

THANKS!

MustangSVT 06-23-08 01:25 PM

Re: PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)
 
Sounds like an issue with the switcher. I have one myself (though not by Belkin, just some no-name brand switcher from partsexpress.com), and I have my 360, PS3 and HD DVD player connected to it (3 to 1 automatic switch). Haven't tried 1080p signals on it yet though , but it claims to take 1080p 60hz and other stuff.

Mikit0707 06-24-08 06:06 AM

Re: PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)
 
Hmmmmm.... I think you may be right. It was working fine last night and I noticed the picture disappear when I accidentally bumped the switch; a jiggle of the cable brought it back. So either my cable or switch is faulty. Bugger.

:(

crainger 06-24-08 06:16 AM

Re: PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)
 
Probably the switch. I had the same sort of issues with a cheap HMDI switcher and my TV using it with my PS3, STB and PC. In the end I ditched the switcher and haven't had an issue since.

Libertysyclone 06-24-08 09:29 AM

Re: PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)
 
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Thats what I use and it works just fine with my 2407 Dell

Mikit0707 06-25-08 07:23 AM

Re: PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)
 
Thanks for the advice on alternative switchers.... but unfortunately I live in South Africa and anything with an HDMI port is relatively new on the scene here. I had to import this switch from the UK so guess I'm not going to be swapping it out anytime soon. Oh well.

Thanks again.

MustangSVT 06-25-08 09:08 AM

Re: PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mikit0707 (Post 1693061)
Thanks for the advice on alternative switchers.... but unfortunately I live in South Africa and anything with an HDMI port is relatively new on the scene here. I had to import this switch from the UK so guess I'm not going to be swapping it out anytime soon. Oh well.

Thanks again.

Maybe the cable going out from the switcher to your TV or whatever you use (monitor) is faulty. Try using a different cable.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.