nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Crysis (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   godrays in dx 9? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=116064)

Dreamingawake 07-09-08 08:56 PM

godrays in dx 9?
 
im running crysis vanilla in dx9 however im wondering if i can enable
just the godrays.. i don't want any of the other tweaks enabled.

what's the command to do that and how would it be done ?

thanks in advance (nana2)

JasonPC 07-09-08 10:51 PM

Re: godrays in dx 9?
 
q_Renderer=3 (quality) and r_sunshafts=1 (post processing)

I know you said you don't want any other tweaks but I highly recommend r_ColorGrading=1 and r_UseEdgeAA=2 (both shading).

Dreamingawake 07-09-08 10:56 PM

Re: godrays in dx 9?
 
cool thanks ill give it a try ! -how do i do it anyway ? lol

does the EdgeAA tweak matter if im already running 16x aa ?

JasonPC 07-09-08 10:57 PM

Re: godrays in dx 9?
 
Probably not in that case but probably worth a try just to see if it improves anything at all. Shouldn't have much of an effect on performance.

Edit: I forgot you need q_ShaderPostProcess=2 for EdgeAA

3DBrad 07-09-08 10:58 PM

Re: godrays in dx 9?
 
If it won't let you enter them, be sure to enter con_restricted 0 first.
:)

Dreamingawake 07-09-08 10:59 PM

Re: godrays in dx 9?
 
lol enter them where? in the console in game ?

im confused :( lol

3DBrad 07-09-08 11:07 PM

Re: godrays in dx 9?
 
Yes, the console. :) (~)

JasonPC 07-09-08 11:08 PM

Re: godrays in dx 9?
 
Oh yeah that might help :D You can make a system.cfg (text) file in the game's directory with those commands. There's other ways too but that's the simplest.

Dreamingawake 07-10-08 10:20 AM

Re: godrays in dx 9?
 
thank you kindly for the replies. -got it working..

i'm gonna check out my fps because it seems just ridiculous..

EDIT: Fps howevers right around 30-40, never went below 25 even during heavy firefights !!!

crysis is suuper smooth at this fps, temps we're about 77 under load with fan on auto at 50% !!

im a happy guy.. but, i think it's time for a new cpu .. lol

3DBrad 07-10-08 06:16 PM

Re: godrays in dx 9?
 
LOL, yeah, my e6400 was bottlenecking my 8800gtx in UE3 games, so definitely your CPU is as well, but maybe not in Crysis as much. :)

XDanger 07-29-08 07:04 PM

Re: godrays in dx 9?
 
set your e6300 to 3.4 and Crysis will be fine.

cpu test
2.13-Run #1- DX9 800x600 AA=No AA, 32 bit test, Quality: High ~~ Last Average FPS: 24.27
3.4-Run #1- DX9 800x600 AA=No AA, 32 bit test, Quality: High ~~ Last Average FPS: 45.66

3.5 to 3.7 made very little difference for me, 3.4 is sweet spot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.