nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   New rig with 260 crashes.... (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=116633)

Ironmonk 07-22-08 12:43 AM

New rig with 260 crashes....
 
Hello there. I just built a rig for the first time.
My problem is: every time i play a game, i get a fatal error after 5~15 minutes. I then need to terminate the application. Happens for Crysis, CoD4 and Counter-Strike Source (everything ive thrown at my comp so far).

I am unsure if this issue is GPU related... This forum came up on google search. I figured i could ask here:

(Again, 1st time i build a rig, but i think its all good since the OS runs smoothly).
Specs:

ASUS P5Q Pro, Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, EVGA E-GEFORCE GTX 260 Superclocked, Silverstone Zeus ST75ZF 750W ATX12V 24PIN Power Supply, Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C4

Running on windows xp 32bit Pro. Also got a vista x64 partition, but i havent tested it yet.


So anyone thinks the NVidia graphic drivers for 200 series are flawed?
I updated all my drivers anyway.

Thanks in advance if anyone can help.

particleman 07-22-08 12:49 AM

Re: New rig with 260 crashes....
 
Have you checked the temperatures? the GTX 200s are notorious for overheating issues. Try running Furmark with GPU-Z to monitor the temperature. Have you tested this rig with another video card? Or did you just put it together, if you just put it together it could be something else in your system.

Ironmonk 07-22-08 12:53 AM

Re: New rig with 260 crashes....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by particleman (Post 1719074)
Have you checked the temperatures? the GTX 200s are notorious for overheating issues. Try running Furmark with GPU-Z to monitor the temperature. Have you tested this rig with another video card? Or did you just put it together, if you just put it together it could be something else in your system.

I just put it together.

Amuro 07-22-08 01:02 AM

Re: New rig with 260 crashes....
 
Have you checked your event viewer? It may give you some ideas as to what is causing the errors.

Ironmonk 07-22-08 01:13 AM

Re: New rig with 260 crashes....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Amuro (Post 1719082)
Have you checked your event viewer? It may give you some ideas as to what is causing the errors.

No, I haven't. I would like to know how to be able to check this event viewer. (tryin to google it right now).

Lfctony 07-22-08 01:18 AM

Re: New rig with 260 crashes....
 
Go into Control panel, Administrative Tools, Event Viewer. Check the System and the Application logs.

Ironmonk 07-22-08 01:23 AM

Re: New rig with 260 crashes....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lfctony (Post 1719108)
Go into Control panel, Administrative Tools, Event Viewer. Check the System and the Application logs.

Here are a few ones:

==
Faulting application hl2.exe, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module datacache.dll, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x0000b423.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74 Applicat
0008: 69 6f 6e 20 46 61 69 6c ion Fail
0010: 75 72 65 20 20 68 6c 32 ure hl2
0018: 2e 65 78 65 20 30 2e 30 .exe 0.0
0020: 2e 30 2e 30 20 69 6e 20 .0.0 in
0028: 64 61 74 61 63 61 63 68 datacach
0030: 65 2e 64 6c 6c 20 30 2e e.dll 0.
0038: 30 2e 30 2e 30 20 61 74 0.0.0 at
0040: 20 6f 66 66 73 65 74 20 offset
0048: 30 30 30 30 62 34 32 33 0000b423
0050: 0d 0a ..
==

Faulting application crysis.exe, version 1.1.1.5767, faulting module crynetwork.dll, version 1.1.1.5767, fault address 0x00004ff7.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

==================

Faulting application crysis.exe, version 1.1.1.5767, faulting module cryentitysystem.dll, version 1.1.1.5767, fault address 0x00036f19.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

=============


System tab looks good...


Btw, im goin to sleep, work tomorrow!!! Thanks again!

ginfest 07-22-08 07:17 AM

Re: New rig with 260 crashes....
 
When I see multiple apps/games "faulting" out I immediately start with the basic cpu/fsb/memory settings (along with vcore and vmem) First, set everything on default, do a little research on your mainboard/cpu and DDR2 to get the basics. There is a lot of info about all those on the XtremeSystems forums.
I'd start there instead of worrying about the GPU and drivers.

nekrosoft13 07-22-08 07:37 AM

Re: New rig with 260 crashes....
 
two things

1) actually tell us the temps

2) since you have a PSU with quad rails, try to re-arrange power cables. could be over loading one of the rails.

Revs 07-22-08 07:48 AM

Re: New rig with 260 crashes....
 
Sound like the card could be overheating if you haven't increased the fan speed. Like Geralt said, we really need the temps.

Ironmonk 07-22-08 11:11 AM

Re: New rig with 260 crashes....
 
GPU doesnt go above 70C according to EVGA precision utility. ( I did not overclock anything as well).

I think the problem is my ram, ill upload a screenshot of my bios settings...


http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/7...1171nh0.th.jpg

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/5...3373vc0.th.jpg

http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/4...6565hi9.th.jpg

Ironmonk 07-22-08 11:34 AM

Re: New rig with 260 crashes....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 1719264)
two things

1) actually tell us the temps

2) since you have a PSU with quad rails, try to re-arrange power cables. could be over loading one of the rails.

For the rails, 2 of the rails are 8pin and 2 are 6pin. Im using both 6pin and they have 18amp on each rail.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.