nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   GTX280 wont fit in Abit AB9 Mobo!!! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=116723)

SH64 07-23-08 07:33 PM

GTX280 wont fit in Abit AB9 Mobo!!!
 
1 Attachment(s)
WTF!! a capacitor near the PCI-E slot is interfering with the lower part of the card's bottom cover!! :mad::mad::banghead:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/atta...1&d=1216859604

AthlonXP1800 07-23-08 08:33 PM

Re: GTX280 wont fit in Abit AB9 Mobo!!!
 
Abit bad design, you could try cut off one or two capacitors. Lose either could affect the motherboard stability.

SH64 07-23-08 08:40 PM

Re: GTX280 wont fit in Abit AB9 Mobo!!!
 
I'm thinking about sawing the DVI port cover. that part is nothing but a DVI cover just like the 8800U which is without it.

Bman212121 07-23-08 09:08 PM

Re: GTX280 wont fit in Abit AB9 Mobo!!!
 
Wow that's kind of lame. I just looked at some of the other cards I have lying around to see if they had that same notch on them and even my GF4 MX has that on there. The only difference is that other cards probably don't extend that bump to the 2nd slot, which is why they didn't notice a problem.

Just browsed through several of XFX's other cards and none of the older cards have that thing on the bottom, which is why it was probably an oversight.

shabby 07-23-08 09:36 PM

Re: GTX280 wont fit in Abit AB9 Mobo!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SH64 (Post 1721570)
I'm thinking about sawing the DVI port cover. that part is nothing but a DVI cover just like the 8800U which is without it.

Or pick up a similar capacitor with longer leads and re-solder it and bend it outta the way.

nekrosoft13 07-23-08 09:37 PM

Re: GTX280 wont fit in Abit AB9 Mobo!!!
 
wow that is a weird board.

who was the genius that placed IDE and SATA ports in that place

SH64 07-23-08 10:37 PM

Re: GTX280 wont fit in Abit AB9 Mobo!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 1721613)
wow that is a weird board.

who was the genius that placed IDE and SATA ports in that place

Only the idiots at Abit.

anyway i went as i planned & sawed off the DVI port's cover. now it fits , not 100% but enough to get the card working!
i already started testing Crysis & 3DMark06.

EDIT : Shabby that wasnt a bad idea either! ;)

nekrosoft13 07-23-08 10:42 PM

Re: GTX280 wont fit in Abit AB9 Mobo!!!
 
update your sig now ;)

SH64 07-23-08 10:44 PM

Re: GTX280 wont fit in Abit AB9 Mobo!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 1721668)
update your sig now ;)

Sure! ;)

LT.Schaffer 07-24-08 01:33 AM

Re: GTX280 wont fit in Abit AB9 Mobo!!!
 
Looking Good SH64:thumbsup: Glad you got it working:)

CaptNKILL 07-24-08 01:50 AM

Re: GTX280 wont fit in Abit AB9 Mobo!!!
 
Wow, it takes balls to start cutting up a brand new $400 video card. :D

Lfctony 07-24-08 04:17 AM

Re: GTX280 wont fit in Abit AB9 Mobo!!!
 
Had the same genius type of design on the MSI P7N Platinum. They put the speaker connection next to the PCIe slot, thank God the plastic cover came off leaving the pins exposed but allowed the board to fit. Notice the black thing next to the PCIe slot, that...

http://www.trustedreviews.com/images...ne/6851-IO.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.