nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Software Development (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=53)
-   -   Official Learn PHP/MySQL Thread (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=117006)

ViN86 07-29-08 09:58 PM

Official Learn PHP/MySQL Thread

Well, I would like to introduce everyone here to the wonderful world of PHP and MySQL. Since DOC and some others said they would like to learn about this very simple language, I would like to teach him and the others about it and how easy it is to use. :D

Let me first say that I am not an expert PHP programmer. However, I have written many web applications using PHP integrated with MySQL. I also have a good knowledge of the basics of the language. I will cover security (SQL injection, XSS, etc.) but again, I am not an expert. That being said, I am open to suggestions and new methods. So feel free to contribute freely to the separate feedback thread, and please do not threadcrap.

The Feedback thread is here: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=117028

This will require some basic knowlege of programming. Preferrably, C/C++/C# programming background would be ideal, but minimal programming knowledge will work just fine.

So, consider today to be Part 1 of this educational series that has no defined number of parts.

Part 1: Installing and Using PHP/MySQL/PHPMyAdmin - The Easy Way

I currently use a local Apache/PHP/MySQL server to do all my development. I will introduce you all to a couple tools that I use for development.

First, I like to use a program called WAMP (Windows Apache MySQL PHP) for my development. I always work offline (as should you) to protect the code. I like using WAMP because it's very simple. They have new releases quite often and the releases always contain the most up-to-date versions available.

WAMP Server can be downloaded free from http://www.wampserver.com/en/ and is licensed under the GPL.