nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Is forcing vSync working in Vista SP1 now? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=117182)

cvearl 08-01-08 09:12 PM

Is forcing vSync working in Vista SP1 now?
 
I am wondering. With any nVidia card. Specifically in Vista SP1 with games that DON'T support vSync or have a vSync option that can be enabled in game, can nVidia control pannel now Force vSync?

This has to be without any other tool like Rivatuner or nHancer or whatever. Vista SP1. And perhaps these games...

Call of Juarez
The Witcher
Age of Conan
STALKER
x3 reuinion

Are those the right ones? I know Call of Juarez has no vSync support in the engine.

C.

cvearl 08-01-08 10:27 PM

Re: Is forcing vSync working in Vista SP1 now?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Siskods9 (Post 1730727)
What a coincidence... I just sorted this today for GOW on Vista 64 + SP1 by using the 'D3DOverrider' component of the latest version of Riva Tuner. I enabled 'all' of the global settings and hey presto! Vsync now seems to work a treat!


How about without D3DOverrider?

Oops I meant nVidia card people. But ya. I heard that works too. ;)

C.

Muppet 08-02-08 03:14 AM

Re: Is forcing vSync working in Vista SP1 now?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cvearl (Post 1730764)
How about without D3DOverrider?

Oops I meant nVidia card people. But ya. I heard that works too. ;)

C.

Only have Stalker out of that list. But yes, even forcing Vsync and Triple Buffering in the control panel works fine.

CaptNKILL 08-02-08 03:22 AM

Re: Is forcing vSync working in Vista SP1 now?
 
I have triple buffer and vsync forced with D3D Override and it seems to work in all of my games on Vista Ultimate x64 with SP1.

STALKER is also fine.

I actually haven't had a problem with vsync and triple buffering since Bioshock.

Jas28 08-02-08 10:21 AM

Re: Is forcing vSync working in Vista SP1 now?
 
No problems here....everything works perfectly fine for me.

cvearl 08-02-08 10:34 AM

Re: Is forcing vSync working in Vista SP1 now?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CaptNKILL (Post 1730974)
I have triple buffer and vsync forced with D3D Override and it seems to work in all of my games on Vista Ultimate x64 with SP1.

STALKER is also fine.

I actually haven't had a problem with vsync and triple buffering since Bioshock.

But I meant without D3Doverrider.

Just vSync set to "Always on" in the nVidia CP and see if that works. But you have to be Vista SP1.

Can anyone test WITHOUT Rivatuner and or D3DOverider running just using nVidia CP in Call of Juarez or The Witcher?

http://www.atomicmpc.com.au/forums.a...&t=13816&p=120
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=257002
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=233246

C.

Jas28 08-02-08 12:38 PM

Re: Is forcing vSync working in Vista SP1 now?
 
I don't use D3DOverdrive, and I am on Vista SP1. I don't have CoJ, but I did check The Witcher (checked using Fraps also to make sure) and Vsync works perfectly fine ONLY forcing in the Nvidia control panel.

tweaked 08-02-08 12:39 PM

Re: Is forcing vSync working in Vista SP1 now?
 
All games tested for you (they were installed still anyway) and vsync and good ole triple color buffering work perfect with X64 vista/SP1 on my 280GTX.

Control panel only, no third party software what-so-ever.

CaptNKILL 08-02-08 12:54 PM

Re: Is forcing vSync working in Vista SP1 now?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cvearl (Post 1731117)
But I meant without D3Doverrider.

Just vSync set to "Always on" in the nVidia CP and see if that works. But you have to be Vista SP1.

Can anyone test WITHOUT Rivatuner and or D3DOverider running just using nVidia CP in Call of Juarez or The Witcher?

http://www.atomicmpc.com.au/forums.a...&t=13816&p=120
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=257002
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=233246

C.

Oh, sorry about that.

The "always on" vsync setting has been around for years but I don't remember it working very often. It may even have been OpenGL-only at some point. I'm pretty sure the force triple buffering setting is still OpenGL only though.

I haven't messed with these settings in over a year though. They rarely ever worked anyway and now D3D Override does it all and even supports profiles for games that don't work with forced vsync\triple buffering.

cvearl 08-02-08 01:36 PM

Re: Is forcing vSync working in Vista SP1 now?
 
Thanks everyone...

It seems with the ATI CCC that I need D3DOverrider to envoke vSync in a few of the games that don't support it under Vista.

I wonder. If nVidia can force it, why can't ATI? I ask because it is true that Vista changed vSync aparently so that normally you cannot change vSync behaviour unless the game actually supports it within the game itself.

If nVidias CP and D3DOverrider can force it, ATI should be able to as well. Unless they somehow are afraid of crossing Microsoft?

C.

tweaked 08-02-08 01:52 PM

Re: Is forcing vSync working in Vista SP1 now?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CaptNKILL (Post 1731212)
Oh, sorry about that.

The "always on" vsync setting has been around for years but I don't remember it working very often. It may even have been OpenGL-only at some point. I'm pretty sure the force triple buffering setting is still OpenGL only though.

I haven't messed with these settings in over a year though. They rarely ever worked anyway and now D3D Override does it all and even supports profiles for games that don't work with forced vsync\triple buffering.

It is true those settings used to be OpenGL only.

But that has recently changed however, and they appear to effect all the Direct3D games I've tested.

Medion 08-02-08 03:13 PM

Re: Is forcing vSync working in Vista SP1 now?
 
Forced Vsync - Does not work on UT2004, so I need D3D OverDrive
Forced Triple Buffering - Does not work in Need for Speed Most Wanted, supposedly this one is still OpenGL only.

Due to those two games, I still use D3D Overdrive.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.