nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Sudden Shutdowns? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=117422)

Croesus 08-06-08 01:39 PM

Sudden Shutdowns?
 
Hey guys,

I got my BFG GeForce 280 GTX OC2 yesterday and popped it into the PC. When I first started it, the green light at the back was red and wasn't doing much... so I restarted again and again... then finally the green go light came on and the monitor switched on allowing me to install drivers, so I did.

I then went to play... yes you guessed it, crysis and everything was going ok until a really weird high pitched ticking noise started coming from the PC... it got faster and faster and louder, then the PC just shut off. So I started it back up again without a problem, played around... tried Race Driver GRID, seemed ok... went back into crysis and again, weird noise and shutdown. I then downloaded FurMark and started to run that, within 20 seconds of starting to run it... it shutdown without any weird noise build up... so now i've RMA'd the card and am planning to send it back but I'm wondering if my PSU has anything to do with it?

I'm running a 800W Dual Rail PSU so I just dont know whats wrong, I can run x2 8800GT 512MB on SLi but one 280 and the whole thing dies? Before you all ask, the GPU seemed to run idle at 48C and the Ambient temp of the GPU was 38C. I'm not sure if it overheated coz I just shutdown and cant read any temps lol

Any help or advice would be great

Thanks

Lfctony 08-06-08 01:43 PM

Re: Sudden Shutdowns?
 
Download GPU-Z and monitor your temps while running Furmark. You might have the oveheating issue. If it's not, then my next guess would be the PSU...

Croesus 08-06-08 01:55 PM

Re: Sudden Shutdowns?
 
That I did, I have EVEREST monitoring my temps but as the thing just shuts down without any warning, i'm not sure what it finishes off at?

My PSU specs are...

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/h.bell2...y/P8060240.JPG

Is this my problem perhaps?

wollyka 08-06-08 02:33 PM

Re: Sudden Shutdowns?
 
maybe one of the 12V rail is overloaded? (are u using a 6 pin to 8 pin cable or any other Y cable ? if so try using different wiring and cables)

Croesus 08-06-08 02:34 PM

Re: Sudden Shutdowns?
 
Yeah i'm using the 2x6pin-8pin and a 2x4pin-6pin connector supplied by BFG, I've tried 2 of the 4pin-6pin Y cables but still nothing... I only have 1 6pin-8pin though...

wollyka 08-06-08 02:38 PM

Re: Sudden Shutdowns?
 
what was the last temp reading in Furmark before the shutdown? (use any on screen GPU temps utility like Rivatuner), if it was close to 100C, then it is he overheating problem, if no then most likely the PSU

Croesus 08-06-08 02:40 PM

Re: Sudden Shutdowns?
 
Ok well... the highest reading I have from the 280 is 86C... but that was just after trying to play GRID,

btw I also tried running Furmark after a cold boot... lasted about 10secs then shutdown :(

hell_of_doom227 08-06-08 03:00 PM

Re: Sudden Shutdowns?
 
PSU. Yes i know it says 800W, but the card needs 1x6pin and 1x8pin rail. I know you can use two 6-pin - 8-pin adapter but good luck with that, no guarantees it will be stable.

"Yeah i'm using the 2x6pin-8pin and a 2x4pin-6pin connector supplied by BFG", this is what you said. Get new PSU and your problem is going to be fixed. I suggest you look at Rosewill 950W PSU, it's only $150 but it works damn great. It has 2x6pin and 2x8pin PCIe cables, 1x8pin CPU, and ATX24 pin, and plenty of SATA and 4-pin molex cables.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182096

It's $169 now, my bad.

Croesus 08-06-08 03:23 PM

Re: Sudden Shutdowns?
 
Cheers dude, I just placed an order for one, should be with me on Friday... looks like i'll hold off the RMA until I know for sure. Thanks again, seems like thr is light at the end of the tunnel lol... this thing has been sending me up the wall ;)

wollyka 08-06-08 04:57 PM

Re: Sudden Shutdowns?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227 (Post 1735826)
PSU. Yes i know it says 800W, but the card needs 1x6pin and 1x8pin rail. I know you can use two 6-pin - 8-pin adapter but good luck with that, no guarantees it will be stable.

"Yeah i'm using the 2x6pin-8pin and a 2x4pin-6pin connector supplied by BFG", this is what you said. Get new PSU and your problem is going to be fixed. I suggest you look at Rosewill 950W PSU, it's only $150 but it works damn great. It has 2x6pin and 2x8pin PCIe cables, 1x8pin CPU, and ATX24 pin, and plenty of SATA and 4-pin molex cables.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182096

It's $169 now, my bad.

+1
Probably the PSU like hell_of_doom227 said.. u said that at first the LED on the card was red which means no sufficient juice..

nekrosoft13 08-06-08 05:04 PM

Re: Sudden Shutdowns?
 
multi rail PSU can be nightmare. try switching cables around.

Most likelly one of the rails is overloaded


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.