nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Best Way Take Screenshots with SLI (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=117451)

Kaguya 08-07-08 12:13 AM

Best Way Take Screenshots with SLI
 
I hate games without screenshot options... but sometimes even those that do, with SLI, I get completely black screens.

What's a good way to take high quality screenshots for free in games that don't support screenshots, but give me the best chance to not get blank pictures?

jAkUp 08-07-08 01:08 AM

Re: Best Way Take Screenshots with SLI
 
Fraps :)

Kaguya 08-07-08 01:32 AM

Re: Best Way Take Screenshots with SLI
 
Is FRAPS free? The webpage doesn't clearly state what features I lose (other than watermarks in videos) by not purchasing the full version.

crainger 08-07-08 02:32 AM

Re: Best Way Take Screenshots with SLI
 
Basic version is free. It has it's limits, for example free version only saves images as BMP, which isn't too bad, unless you take a heap and forget to go through them and convert to jpg. Also mind which button you use as the screencap button. I once had it as numberpad plus, played a few games which for some reason I had to use num +, found my screenshot dir a few months later to see it was 3gb. ::o:.

Kaguya 08-07-08 11:18 AM

Re: Best Way Take Screenshots with SLI
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by crainger (Post 1736754)
Basic version is free. It has it's limits, for example free version only saves images as BMP, which isn't too bad, unless you take a heap and forget to go through them and convert to jpg. Also mind which button you use as the screencap button. I once had it as numberpad plus, played a few games which for some reason I had to use num +, found my screenshot dir a few months later to see it was 3gb. ::o:.

Ah, it didn't clearly state that... thanks. I can convert from bmp... I'm just leery of paying $37 for something that might not work, since I've had a lot of failed attempts at free screen capture programs. My tried and true UOSU has served pretty well up until this point, and now it just gives me perfectly black screens.

Fraps isn't very system intensive, eh? The screenshots of it seem to show that it's fairly simple.

Edit: Installed it at work. It looks good, now if it takes SLI screenshots I'll be very happy. Not sure why I've always avoided Fraps. I guess I assumed it was some sort of gigantic software piece more along the lines of 3DMark than something nice and small. Live and learn.

SH64 08-07-08 11:46 AM

Re: Best Way Take Screenshots with SLI
 
Agr33d. nothing beats FRAPS for screenshot taking. its not resource hog either.

DoubleDeuce 08-08-08 09:15 AM

Re: Best Way Take Screenshots with SLI
 
This little program is cool and can be setup to save screenshot files as jpegs. http://www.gadwin.com/printscreen/

Revs 08-08-08 09:18 AM

Re: Best Way Take Screenshots with SLI
 
I use MaxView to convert Fraps screenshots to jpeg's and to view my por.... I mean picures :p. It's a great, free little app.

Kaguya 08-08-08 11:05 AM

Re: Best Way Take Screenshots with SLI
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DoubleDeuce (Post 1738233)
This little program is cool and can be setup to save screenshot files as jpegs. http://www.gadwin.com/printscreen/

I actually used Gadwin, but was still getting black screens with SLI. It worked fine when I had a single 8800GTX, but I remember when I had a pair of 7800GT's that SLI seems to cause some screenshots to come out completely blank.

Fraps seems to work, and I have a converter, so so far so good. Hell, maybe I'll even pay the $40 down the road. I totally expected something different than what Fraps really is. It's much more in line with what I want than with a lot of the bloat you can download these days.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.