nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   bccode: 117 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=118003)

12axing 08-17-08 10:13 PM

bccode: 117
 
Just came home from my holyday, and after 12 hours running my pc, it crashed with a bsod (before, bsod had only occurred occasionally during shutting down the system after a long session, but not during idling). Some hours after installing the newest drivers, colorful random pixels covered my screen, and again a bsod popped up, with the following information printed on it:

BCCode: 117
BCP1: A22F5510
BCP2: 8E8155C0
BCP3: 00000000
BCP4: 00000000
OS Version: 6_0_6001
Service Pack: 1_0
Product: 256_1

Then I restarted the system. The display remained black, althought the noise of the hard drive indicated that the pc was booting. Only taking the card out of the slot, and reinstalling the card helped. For god sake, my pc has been running fine since reinstalling my graphic card.

OS: Windows Vista 32 bit, Service pack 1
board: asus striker II formula, nforce 780i sli
cpu: intel core2quad q6600 , 2.4 ghz
ram: DDR2-RAM KIT 2,048 GB, PC2-1066 MHz, CL5, CORSAIR Dominator Series, EPP
gpu: evga geforce gtx 280
hdd: samsung sataII 500 gb T166 16MB 7200
dvd: dvd-+R/-+RW SATA LG GH20NS, bulk
power supply: be quiet! e5-550W-2.2 straight power bqt
chassis: miditower cooler master stacker rc-832, atx

But I am afraid that this might not be the cure to those errors. Half a year ago, I had exactly the same problem on a different plattform (random pixels all over the display of my XPS 1710M notebook), I had to waste 5 or 6 geforce cards until my system got stable again!!! (If I my notebook have had been out of guarantee, I would have given up after much less tries, as it would have been too pricey) Does anyone have experience with that problem? Using the forums search function, I could only find this thread: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...ght=bccode+117

Edit: Had to reboot the pc another 3 times because of bccode: 117

saturnotaku 08-18-08 05:15 AM

Re: bccode: 117
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 12axing (Post 1748387)
OS: Windows Vista 32 bit, Service pack 1
board: asus striker II formula, nforce 780i sli
cpu: intel core2quad q6600 , 2.4 ghz
ram: DDR2-RAM KIT 2,048 GB, PC2-1066 MHz, CL5, CORSAIR Dominator Series, EPP
gpu: evga geforce gtx 280
hdd: samsung sataII 500 gb T166 16MB 7200
dvd: dvd-+R/-+RW SATA LG GH20NS, bulk
power supply: be quiet! e5-550W-2.2 straight power bqt
chassis: miditower cooler master stacker rc-832, atx

Bolded parts are likely your problem. You have an off-brand power supply whose total wattage is less than what NVIDIA recommends (575W minimum for a GTX 280). Upgrade your power supply to at least 600W and choose from any number of name-brand units (Corsair, OCZ, etc). If you also had a similar problem with another type of system, you may also have some issues with the power running to your house. In that case, you should also invest in some kind of surge protector/battery backup.

12axing 08-18-08 05:41 AM

Re: bccode: 117
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by saturnotaku (Post 1748535)
Bolded parts are likely your problem. You have an off-brand power supply whose total wattage is less than what NVIDIA recommends (575W minimum for a GTX 280). Upgrade your power supply to at least 600W and choose from any number of name-brand units (Corsair, OCZ, etc). If you also had a similar problem with another type of system, you may also have some issues with the power running to your house. In that case, you should also invest in some kind of surge protector/battery backup.

Thank you for the answer, I will check the power running to my house, and replace my power supply (The reason, why I was still using my 600 W power supply is that my 1000 W be quiet power supply isn't quiet at all :( , but now I will give it a try ). What I have to mention: I had no serious problems with my geforce gtx 280 for the first 2 month; errors, random pixels have appeared on the desktop since I came home from my holiday (during my holiday, nobody used my pc).

nekrosoft13 08-18-08 06:18 AM

Re: bccode: 117
 
like saturn said, by good psu, just because something is called "be quiet" won't actually mean it is.

best thing to look for in PSU is good strong single rail.

12axing 08-18-08 11:43 AM

Re: bccode: 117
 
And again a bluescreen popped up, this time bccode 116 , althought I relplaced my power supply by be quiet 1000 W. In the meantime I could run Crysis, 3dmark vantage, memtest 86 without any errors, but after 4 hours of running my pc, suddenly the windows were only rendered all 10 seconds, and then that **** of bsod came back!!!!! During using firefox :rw: maybe a bug in the betadrivers, but using the older drivers I had a worse experience with bluescreens today and yesterday.

saturnotaku 08-18-08 01:04 PM

Re: bccode: 117
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 12axing (Post 1748796)
And again a bluescreen popped up, this time bccode 116 , althought I relplaced my power supply by be quiet 1000 W.

Could you try a name-brand power supply? Looking at your specs again, it could be the memory as well. The nForce 780i is very picky when it comes to RAM. Make sure your motherboard's BIOS is up to date, and try a different brand of RAM.

12axing 08-18-08 01:54 PM

Re: bccode: 117
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by saturnotaku (Post 1748888)
Could you try a name-brand power supply? Looking at your specs again, it could be the memory as well. The nForce 780i is very picky when it comes to RAM. Make sure your motherboard's BIOS is up to date, and try a different brand of RAM.

I will try some of your suggestions, especially those, which don't cost me much money :). But isn't it a bit strange that a configuration, which worked for month stops working for no obvious reason?
One question I would like to be answered: does a tool exist, which can be used to test a nvidia's graphic card memory?

12axing 08-19-08 12:19 PM

Re: bccode: 117
 
Just one more thing I wanted to mention: updating the bios may have helped :D . No random crashes and lockups have happened since the last 10 hours :)

$n][pErMan 08-19-08 07:31 PM

Re: bccode: 117
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 12axing (Post 1748922)
But isn't it a bit strange that a configuration, which worked for month stops working for no obvious reason?

Not if one of the components is about to fail or is failing :P

EciDemon 08-20-08 11:11 AM

Re: bccode: 117
 
Dunno about any apps that will test gpu memory, but there are stress test apps around, like furmark for example.

I think if ram is faulty, you would see horrible screen artifacts


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.