nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   How to disable powermizer? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=118226)

queen6 08-21-08 07:11 AM

How to disable powermizer?
 
Hi,

How can I disable powermizer? Currently it's underclocking my graphic card to the level it's completely unusable. All settings seems to be read only.

Code:

Attribute 'GPUCurrentClockFreqs' (rob4300:0.0): 169,100.
    'GPUCurrentClockFreqs' is a packed integer attribute.
    'GPUCurrentClockFreqs' is a read-only attribute.

 Attribute 'GPUAdaptiveClockState' (rob4300:0.0): 1.
    'GPUAdaptiveClockState' is an integer attribute.
    'GPUAdaptiveClockState' is a read-only attribute.


also changing 2D Freq doesn't work (3D seems to work though)
Code:

Attribute 'GPU2DClockFreqs' (rob4300:0.0): 169,100.

kernelOfTruth 08-21-08 07:28 AM

Re: How to disable powermizer?
 
see http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/...for_laptops.29

queen6 08-21-08 10:37 AM

Re: How to disable powermizer?
 
Thanks for the hint. Tried it and it doesn't work

shaundennie 08-21-08 10:41 AM

Re: How to disable powermizer?
 
Depending on your distro, this may work for you: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=828369

NvFuchs 08-21-08 10:48 AM

Re: How to disable powermizer?
 
This

Code:

#!/bin/sh

while true; do
   
    powerstate=`cat /proc/acpi/ac_adapter/AC/state | awk '{print $2}'`
   
    if [ $powerstate = "on-line"  ]; then
      nvidia-settings -q all > /dev/null
    fi
    sleep 25;
done

should be distribution independent, and by removing the powerstate, if and fi line it should keep powermizer on the highest level, independent of the power state of the notebook.

Another possibility would be to use the module parameters, that'd be the more clean solution. However, it is not as flexible as the solution posted above.

Fuchs

queen6 08-21-08 11:07 AM

Re: How to disable powermizer?
 
well the script assumes that "nvidia-settings -q all" will actually change the clocks to maximum ones. On my machine no matter what I do once powermizer hits level 0 it stays like that. The output is always:

Attribute 'GPUCurrentClockFreqs' (rob4300:0.0): 169,100.

(instead of 400,400)

Any official way how to turn it off?

kernelOfTruth 08-21-08 03:31 PM

Re: How to disable powermizer?
 
use the google, luke ! :owned:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...24/+bug/164589
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...6&postcount=57
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=855400

Quote:


I've found this thread in NVNews.net forums:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=96673

From the thread:
"Did you already try to set the mysterious PerfLevelSrc option?
/etc/modprobe.d/options:
options nvidia NVreg_RegistryDwords="PerfLevelSrc=0x2222"

It's never been explained by nvidia what it does, but it's evident that it helps some people (including me) to avoid flickering and XID errors.
It seems to disable adjustment of clock frequencies and helped in my case to avoid the flickering on a 7900 Go GS (Dell 9400). Of course the GPU gets hotter without clocking down so use it with care."

From another user:
"options nvidia NVreg_DeviceFileMode=432 NVreg_DeviceFileUID=0 NVreg_DeviceFileGID=27 NVreg_ModifyDeviceFiles=1 NVreg_SoftEDIDs=0 NVreg_Mobile=1 NVreg_RegistryDwords="PerfLevelSrc=0x2222"

And specifically for Ubuntu users:
"Anyway, so in ubuntu you'd have to add this:
Code:

options nvidia_new NVreg_Mobile=1 NVreg_RegistryDwords="PerfLevelSrc=0x2222"

in /etc/modprobe.d/nvidia-kernel-nkc
Mobile is probably not needed but I like having it to check that the arguments actually worked.

Finally I can use my card! Thanks to everyone involved."

I'm currently trying this out. Maybe someone is interested, so this is why I share these comments here.
Quote:

Adding the "options nvidia_new NVreg_Mobile=1 NVreg_RegistryDwords="PerfLevelSrc=0x2222"" line lets it know its a mobile card - if you look at the line closely, you can see its setting the NVreg_Mobile nVidia option to '1' or 'True'. This is what fixed it for me - without this, your system doesn't know it is working with a mobile card - the only cards with Powermizer, therefor the only cards that the PerfLevelSrc options apply to...
(did this work for you ?)

queen6 08-21-08 05:57 PM

Re: How to disable powermizer?
 
I wouldn't come here seeking for help if I wouldn't google and try every dirty trick first my master :D

Honestly I'm looking for official, nvidia way to disable this feature.

tier 08-21-08 06:30 PM

Re: How to disable powermizer?
 
iirc NVreg_Mobile just determined the vendor or something like that..

dxx 08-22-08 06:32 PM

Re: How to disable powermizer?
 
Hang on, 169MHz / 100MHz - is that a 440MX you're packing there? I vaguely recall my old laptop having very similar speeds.

queen6 08-26-08 05:25 AM

Re: How to disable powermizer?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dxx (Post 1754123)
Hang on, 169MHz / 100MHz - is that a 440MX you're packing there? I vaguely recall my old laptop having very similar speeds.

Code:

lspci:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 042d (rev a1)

from X log:
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU Quadro FX 360M (G86GL) at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 524288 kBytes
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 60.86.47.00.02
(II) NVIDIA(0): Detected PCI Express Link width: 16X
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on Quadro FX 360M at PCI:1:0:0:

I bet 440MX would work much better ^^


as long as the card has 400/400 settings I've got 60+ fps
once it switches itself to 169/100 (few sec after you start X) I've got 0.5 fps. Try to do some work with such framerate.

queen6 08-29-08 06:31 AM

Re: How to disable powermizer?
 
bump.

Can I please have an official nVidia replay?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.