nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   New to Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=118238)

zoomy942 08-21-08 10:26 AM

New to Linux
 
My older brother, whom i might add is about the smartest Linux person I know (and the most passionate Windows hater) has convinced me try it out.

He said i should start out with Ubuntu and geenome. Well, i am willing to start but honestly, being a sorrid windows guy for so many years, i dont even know where to start. I have an HP 2710P tablet running Vista Ultimate, but i would LIKE to dual boot with Linux.

He is going to help me along as well, but if you guys have information about how to even start, i'd love to hear it.

here are the links he gave me so far.

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/LaptopTestingTeam/HP2710p_Hardy

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HARDWARE_HP_Compaq_2710p

six_storm 08-21-08 05:43 PM

Re: New to Linux
 
www.ubuntuforum.org

The best thing to do is just to goof around with it. And trust me, if you mess around with stuff as much as I do, you will be reinstalling a few times. ;) Actually, I take that back. You might have to reinstall once or twice at most. Things have really shaped up for Linux the past year.

zoomy942 08-21-08 06:26 PM

Re: New to Linux
 
i got it installed finally.

i am working to get Evolution mail to connect to my exchange server (its already synced to gmail) and i am working on getting amsn installed too.

this rocks man. i am really realy liking this. i didnt set a drive as a swap drive since i have 3GB of ram. think that'll be okay?

Bearclaw 11-10-08 11:46 AM

Re: New to Linux
 
Nice job installing! About damn time... :bleh:

crainger 11-10-08 03:36 PM

Re: New to Linux
 
Check post dates before you post and bump BearBuddy.

zoomy942 11-10-08 03:52 PM

Re: New to Linux
 
haha. wow - in 10 weeks its amazing how much i have learned. geez

fhj52 01-02-09 10:15 PM

Re: New to Linux
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zoomy942 (Post 1752962)
... i didnt set a drive as a swap drive since i have 3GB of ram. think that'll be okay?

The kernel needs a little swap space.
Try 100MB(it actually uses less but that is a good number). The only other time swap is used depends on how much you have running at once or if some errant program has a memory leak. A memory leak w/o a large swap will quickly stall the system but in almost ten years, I only experienced that once. Even then, not a memory leak precisely.

You can use a "swapfile" and not set a drive(partition) for swap so there is no need to (re)partition space to accommodate a swap.

This will create swapfile of ~ 100 MB on the root (/) partition
Code:

dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=1024 count=100000
(dd)

Then this formats it as swap
Code:

mkswap /swapfile
(mkswap)

Then you need to turn it on
Code:

swapon /swapfile
(swapon)

Other locations(other than /) are okay. Best location is on a separate physical drive, if you have a second physical drive.
You will want to set it to activate at every boot. I'll leave that for you to determine how to do it(you did say "its amazing how much i have learned"). It's not hard ... ;).

Please be careful with dd command. It is very powerful.

asloman 02-08-09 11:34 AM

Re: New to Linux
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fhj52 (Post 1891073)
The kernel needs a little swap space.
Try 100MB(it actually uses less but that is a good number). The only other time swap is used depends on how much you have running at once or if some errant program has a memory leak.
.......

If, like me, you never wish to reboot, but prefer to suspend to disk before switching off and later resume, with all applications left running, you'll need a swap area to be used by the suspend system. The version I use is what used to be called SWSUSP2 (software-suspend2) now called 'tuxonice'. I simply install the kernel and kernel-devel packages prepared by Matthias Hensler, here for Fedora users.
http://mhensler.de/swsusp/download_en.php
If you are using Ubuntu you may be able to find another site. Try running synaptic and tell it to search for tuxonice.

It is probably a good idea, as a precaution, to have a swap area twice the size of your physical memory, if you have lots of spare disk space. (In the past that was often said to be an absolute requirement). If all your running processes are much smaller than the total amount of physical memory, then the need to swap stuff out in order to claim a large contiguous chunk of physical memory is unlikely to arise. Maybe modern memory-management designs make that unnecessary anyway.

Aaron
http://www.cs.bham.ac.uk

jcrox 02-19-09 12:31 AM

Re: New to Linux
 
A Practical Guide to Ubuntu Linux 2nd Edition

1000+ pages of pure geek... I'm on my way :D

ShiningArcanine 01-29-10 05:42 PM

Re: New to Linux
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fhj52 (Post 1891073)
The kernel needs a little swap space.
Try 100MB(it actually uses less but that is a good number). The only other time swap is used depends on how much you have running at once or if some errant program has a memory leak. A memory leak w/o a large swap will quickly stall the system but in almost ten years, I only experienced that once. Even then, not a memory leak precisely.

The kernel can run without any swap space. Also, if the system runs out of memory, the kernel will begin killing stuff randomly to be able to allocate more.

Drolfrawd 01-29-10 06:12 PM

Re: New to Linux
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zoomy942 (Post 1752962)
i got it installed finally.

i am working to get Evolution mail to connect to my exchange server (its already synced to gmail) and i am working on getting amsn installed too.

this rocks man. i am really realy liking this. i didnt set a drive as a swap drive since i have 3GB of ram. think that'll be okay?

Hey well done, I was wondering if you got evolution mail to connect to exchange server and if so what version of exchange

grey_1 01-29-10 08:09 PM

Re: New to Linux
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Drolfrawd (Post 2175715)
Hey well done, I was wondering if you got evolution mail to connect to exchange server and if so what version of exchange

You would be better off PMing him Drol. Old thread that someone else bumped.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.